PDA

View Full Version : Yellow Card for flanker not properly bound at scrum



AlanT
19-09-06, 00:09
Watched local L5 team at the weekend. Scrum mid-field part way through 1st half. Yellow flanker yellowed for not binding properly. No previous penatlies for this, but quite a few against other yellow players for other offences.

Crowd was bemused, but could this have been for too many team penalties, even though this offence might be regarded as a 'mild one'?

Pablo
19-09-06, 08:09
Depends on the situation Alan. It does sound a little odd if there had been no previous warnings, but then again, if it was a cynical and pre-meditated offence calculated to cut down on attacking team's options, then at Level 5 it certainly didn't happen by accident - and if it was deliberate, then it was a professional foul, for which the appropriate sanction is a yellow card.

Very hard to pass judgment without having seen it, but it could well have been legitimate.

Mike Whittaker
19-09-06, 08:09
Watched local L5 team at the weekend. Scrum mid-field part way through 1st half. Yellow flanker yellowed for not binding properly. No previous penatlies for this, but quite a few against other yellow players for other offences.

Crowd was bemused, but could this have been for too many team penalties, even though this offence might be regarded as a 'mild one'?

'Mild' or not, if it is deemed intentional then it could attract a yellow.
Alternatively it is a player who has repeatedly offended or several players from the same team with the same offence and the last one getting the yellow.

If the penalty count had been high the ref may just have got fed up with the lack of discipline and used one of the above to justify,... not difficult. :)

Simon Thomas
19-09-06, 10:09
Use of the yellow card is a referee's management tool.

Personally I try to use preventative measures first, warn individuals or skippers if there is a trend of offences (third in a row is when I get concerned) - and use yellow after warning.

However a deliberate 'professional' technical offence or foul play (that is not a straight red of course) will get a yellow without warning.

A level 5 referee will be on his Group Squad (SW, L&SE, Mids or North), so is experienced, assessed and coached and be well aware of National Panel protocol.

But it goes to show how important it is to communicate with the crowd as well as players !

didds
19-09-06, 23:09
bet that was one flanker that didn;t unbind early again though!

didds