PDA

View Full Version : Biggest clanger ever



leaguerefaus
29-08-14, 15:08
We've all probably had a brain snap on the field and made a horrendous decision. Unfortunately for Ben Cummins, he's done it on international television. He sin bins a player for being offside and breaking down play... the only problem is that player not only got back 10 metres, he got back 45! It's a brain snap of monumental proportions.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oqoL25lGlPc

The call dramatically changed the complexion of the game, with the Dragons scoring 2 tries whilst the Broncos were down to 12 men, and another shortly after his return. They were within two points of winning the game due to this, however, the Broncos scored late to win by 8.

He apologised to the player when he came back onto the field, and an NRL representative apologised to the team after the match.

pwhaling
29-08-14, 20:08
I don't know much about league, so I hope this isn't a dumb question. Can the second on field official not say something?

4eyesbetter
29-08-14, 22:08
I believe that the model they've been moving towards in the NRL is to have the more experienced bloke take the lead when dealing with game management and discipline, and in this game that'll be Cummins. The risk then is that his partner will be afraid to go "hang on a minute, are you sure?" for fear of making him look bad for no reason.

Lee Lifeson-Peart
29-08-14, 22:08
I think it wasCummins at the centre of my favourite Braith Anasta clip.

Whaaaaaaaaa! You're off your head!!

A great advert for reversing the penalty a la RU.


http://youtu.be/vEtjH5Lr76I

ctrainor
29-08-14, 23:08
Did the ref get a game the week after or a week off?

Browner
30-08-14, 11:08
Aside from the decision validity or frustration, several players yapping and arm waving at the referee doesn't look good.

If I'm reading his body language correctly, once he'd made the decision ( and judging but the reactions of players). he realises he might have ballsed it up but felt committed to the decision

Can he RV to confirm a sinbinning?

Ian_Cook
06-09-14, 20:09
In RU, that PK could have been reversed, but not in RL, where there is no allowance for the referee to reverse a PK decision unless he was wrong about the original offence (the punch by Fa'alogo does not absolve Anasta of culpability for the choke-hold).

The referee really did the only thing he could because (ignore the ignorant commentator's remark at the end) Anasta had Fa'alogo in a choke-hold, a penalisable offence in both codes. The decision to ping him for that, and bin Fa'alogo was a good one. My only criticism is that Fa'alogo probably should have been sent off.

1. He refused to start dealing with it until he had the teams well separated
2. He explained his decision to Anasta, and when he refused to listen, he explained it to the Roosters captain
3. He also warned the Roosters captain about players not moving away when instructed to do so
4. He explained to Fa'alogo why he was getting binned.

All in all, I thought he handled that incident well, although Anasta was lucky to stay on the field himself; I would have binned him for his remarks.

Dickie E
06-09-14, 22:09
Thread-jack alert:

I now think Bryan Habana's YC is the BCE

RobLev
07-09-14, 06:09
In RU, that PK could have been reversed, but not in RL, where there is no allowance for the referee to reverse a PK decision unless he was wrong about the original offence (the punch by Fa'alogo does not absolve Anasta of culpability for the choke-hold).

The referee really did the only thing he could because (ignore the ignorant commentator's remark at the end) Anasta had Fa'alogo in a choke-hold, a penalisable offence in both codes. The decision to ping him for that, and bin Fa'alogo was a good one. My only criticism is that Fa'alogo probably should have been sent off.

1. He refused to start dealing with it until he had the teams well separated
2. He explained his decision to Anasta, and when he refused to listen, he explained it to the Roosters captain
3. He also warned the Roosters captain about players not moving away when instructed to do so
4. He explained to Fa'alogo why he was getting binned.

All in all, I thought he handled that incident well, although Anasta was lucky to stay on the field himself; I would have binned him for his remarks.

Any good reason why the Roosters captain shouldn't have been binned as well for his remarks?

Ian_Cook
07-09-14, 08:09
Any good reason why the Roosters captain shouldn't have been binned as well for his remarks?

Probably none in our game, but in RL, they don't usually bin for that.

However, Anasta said to the referee "you're off your head", and that is well over the line IMO.