PDA

View Full Version : Uisng an AR

crossref
04-02-15, 17:02
I have a game coming up where I have ARs.
I have never used (or even been) - an AR before - Any tips ?

Balones
04-02-15, 18:02
As the name suggests they are there to assist you so I would suggest that that you write down in what ways you want them to assist you. Take this list to the match and tell them. How much you can tell them and allow them to assist may depend on their experience. At this stage just get them to mark touch, mark the 5s and 10s which is what you might tell club TJs to do. Above that imagine yourself on the pitch and ask yourself what help you would like and write this down. don't give them too much to do at this stage or you will confuse them and yourself. As you become more experienced you can add to the list. Try to be very specific about the assistance required.

Not Kurt Weaver
04-02-15, 18:02

get your fees before match

The Fat
04-02-15, 19:02

Comms or no comms?

Have you ever been a TJ?

Balones
04-02-15, 19:02
Being more specific -
Ask before the game whether your ARs have done the job before. They might be able to tell you how they can help you.
Comms will make a difference in the type of assistance they can give you.

From a practical point of view I used to work out some secret signals with my ARs so that they could attract my attention without making a big fuss of things when there were no comms.

Dickie E
04-02-15, 20:02
If ARs are a new experience for you then maybe so too for the players. Let the captains know pre-match that there will 3 pairs of eyes on them.

OB..
I have assessed at several matches where there was a Team of Three, and the referee's pre-match brief to them was fairly long. I suggest you get the details from some suitably experienced person.

crossref
If ARs are a new experience for you then maybe so too for the players. Let the captains know pre-match that there will 3 pairs of eyes on them.

I think that will be the case, and I like that.

Accylad