PDA

View Full Version : England - Italy. First England try



pippobaccello
14-02-15, 17:02
An Italian referee commenting on tv said that the try was not to be allowed because the italian tackler, holding Vunipola as a whole, was out of the touch line, so the ball was to be considered out.
Is there any law that states this?

chbg
14-02-15, 21:02
Only the ball carrier is relevant (Law 19 Definitions). I don't think that carrying the ball-carrier counts. On the other hand, if he had good hold of the ball, as well as the England player, then there is a good case that he has taken it out.

pippobaccello
14-02-15, 21:02
Only the ball carrier is relevant (Law 19 Definitions).
Tks, and there's no variation to the law that consider a "pack of players" as an extension of the ball carrier, is there?

So the try was correctly awarded. As I thought. Sadly!

Ciao

L'irlandais
15-02-15, 11:02
22.11 (b) Ball dead in in-goal (http://laws.worldrugby.org/index.php?law=22) refers only to the ball-carrier :

When a player carrying the ball touches the touch-in-goal line, the dead ball line, or touches the ground beyond those lines, the ball becomes dead. If the ball was carried into in-goal by the attacking team, a drop-out shall be awarded to the defending team. If the ball was carried into in-goal by the defending team, a 5-metre scrum shall be awarded and the attacking team throws in the ball.

Browner
15-02-15, 15:02
15.3 Brought to the ground defined

(b). If the ball carrier is sitting on the ground, or on top of another player on the ground the ball carrier has been ‘brought to ground’.


So, had BV been brought to ground Touch in Goal ???