PDA

View Full Version : Tackler not going to ground doesnt have to release ?



CrouchTPEngage
11-03-15, 08:03
Just confused by the laws pasted in below.I often see ball carriers go to ground due the attentions of a defender who remains on his feet.
In this case, has a tackle been completed ? The defender is in contact with the ball carrier as he sends him to ground. Because the defender did not go to ground himself, the laws would imply that he doesnt need to relase the tackled player ?
Please can someone opine ?
I can think the only way to explain them is that a tackle has not been made.

15.4 The tackle
(a)
When a player tackles an opponent and they both go to ground, the tackler must immediately release the tackled player.

15.7 Forbidden practices
(a)
No player may prevent the tackled player from passing the ball.
Sanction: Penalty kick

(b)
No player may prevent the tackled player from releasing the ball and getting up or moving away from it.
Sanction: Penalty kick

Ronald
11-03-15, 09:03
You are correct, as per the definition of Law 15, opposition players who hold the ball carrier, but does not go to ground, are not tacklers.
These opposition players are covered by Law 15.6 (c), which basically states they have to show daylight and come through the gate before they can play the ball.

Phil E
11-03-15, 09:03
I can think the only way to explain them is that a tackle has not been made.

Nearly. What you have is a tackle without a tackler.

The non tackler, known as an "other player" must release and (unlike a tackler (to be a tackler they must also go to ground)), come through their own gate. They CANNOT play the ball from any direction(which a tackler can).

Ian_Cook
11-03-15, 10:03
CTPE. Just keep this in mind

► It is possible to have a tackle with no tacklers (as Phil pointed out)

► It is possible to have more than one tackler

OB..
11-03-15, 13:03
A player who tackles an opponent but does not go to ground in the tackle is informally know as a "tackle assist" these days.

Dixie
11-03-15, 21:03
A player who tackles an opponent but does not go to ground in the tackle is informally know as a "tackle assist" these days. And yes - he has to release!

Browner
21-03-15, 07:03
CTPE here is a great clip of what a Tackle Assist (blue 7) can look like .... https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=5cI4thyPTEE

Its also an excellent example of a referee using 'preventatives' & helping the game continuity , clear concise player identification " 7 release",
:clap: to this ref.

CrouchTPEngage
22-03-15, 02:03
thank you , Browner.Indeed a good example.
Long may you have breath for your whistle !

Pegleg
23-03-15, 09:03
This is why the laws must be read in context.

The highlighted bits is important


DEFINITIONS (TACKLE)
A tackle occurs when the ball carrier is held by one or more opponents and is
brought to ground.
A ball carrier who is not held is not a tackled player and a tackle has not taken
place.
Opposition players who hold the ball carrier and bring that player to ground, and
who also go to ground, are known as tacklers.
Opposition players who hold the ball carrier and do not go to ground are not
tacklers.

This tells us that a player making a tackle but who does not go to ground is not a tackler. Therefore Law 15.6 applies [and look specifically at 15.6 (c) ] to them rather than 15.4.

SO he has to release and then enter the tackle in accordance with the 15.6

irishref
23-03-15, 09:03
the one you should quote to any dissenting player/captain during the game to shut them up!

15.6(c)

Pegleg
27-12-15, 19:12
I think this thread is in the wrong place.