PDA

View Full Version : tackler's rights



Dickie E
07-09-15, 02:09
This happened in the US v Wallabies game yesterday. It resulted in a penalty which US kicked for 3 points.

Gold tackler (I think #3) goes to ground in the tackle and ends up on wrong side of tackle. He releases ball carrier and gets to his feet. Provided a ruck has not yet formed he is entitled to pick up the ball.

However, he doesn't do that. He starts playing at the ball with his foot in a non-dangerous fashion and when the ruck forms around him (remember he is now on wrong side of the ruck) continues to do.

Is he OK to do that?

TigerCraig
07-09-15, 03:09
This happened in the US v Wallabies game yesterday. It resulted in a penalty which US kicked for 3 points.

Gold tackler (I think #3) goes to ground in the tackle and ends up on wrong side of tackle. He releases ball carrier and gets to his feet. Provided a ruck has not yet formed he is entitled to pick up the ball.

However, he doesn't do that. He starts playing at the ball with his foot in a non-dangerous fashion and when the ruck forms around him (remember he is now on wrong side of the ruck) continues to do.

Is he OK to do that?

I would have thought so, the Law says that once he gets to his feet he can "play the ball from any direction". "Play" is defined as touched by a player, nothing to say it has to be by hand. So long as no ruck has formed, and so long as he isnt standing there obstructing arriving opponents prior to playing the ball

Dickie E
07-09-15, 03:09
I would have thought so, the Law says that once he gets to his feet he can "play the ball from any direction". "Play" is defined as touched by a player, nothing to say it has to be by hand. So long as no ruck has formed, and so long as he isnt standing there obstructing arriving opponents prior to playing the ball

What are his obligations once a ruck commences? Can he just stay there bound up in the mass of bodies?

Ian_Cook
07-09-15, 03:09
This happened in the US v Wallabies game yesterday. It resulted in a penalty which US kicked for 3 points.

Gold tackler (I think #3) goes to ground in the tackle and ends up on wrong side of tackle. He releases ball carrier and gets to his feet. Provided a ruck has not yet formed he is entitled to pick up the ball.

However, he doesn't do that. He starts playing at the ball with his foot in a non-dangerous fashion and when the ruck forms around him (remember he is now on wrong side of the ruck) continues to do.

Is he OK to do that?

When the ruck "formed around him" was he bound into the ruck, that is, was someone bound to him?

If so, I see no problem with what he did

If not, if he is just standing on the opponents side, then he's offside.

Dickie E
07-09-15, 03:09
When the ruck "formed around him" was he bound into the ruck, that is, was someone bound to him?

If so, I see no problem with what he did

If not, if he is just standing on the opponents side, then he's offside.

Hmmm, all very dynamic so worth another look. Once it pops up on youtube, I'll post it.

Ian_Cook
07-09-15, 04:09
Hmmm, all very dynamic so worth another look. Once it pops up on youtube, I'll post it.


There's a replay of the game tonight on SkySport4.

Any idea when this happened? did they kick the 3 points?

Dickie E
07-09-15, 04:09
There's a replay of the game tonight on SkySport4.

Any idea when this happened? did they kick the 3 points?

mid way through 1st half. Yes, they kicked it. It was their first score and their only 3 pointer for the game.

Ian_Cook
07-09-15, 07:09
OK, so I have had a look at it, and I think you are right, Gold 1 was definitely the tackler; grasped White 10, brought him to ground, went to ground himself at the same time then got to his fleet and played the ball as he was entitled to.

The referee got it wrong. He said "1 Gold in from the side" which clearly shows that he though 1 Gold was an "other player" under Law 15.6. Even when the player questioned JP, about it, JP said "you only get those rights when you go to ground"