PDA

View Full Version : Ball knocked out of attackers hands, play on?



ctrainor
31-10-15, 10:10
Watching last nights game habana running with the ball and tackler comes in and in the act of tackling clearly, legally knocks the ball out of his grasp.
My immediate reaction was play on as it was clear and obvious but the ref pulled it back fro a knock on.
I recall guidance a few years ago about ripping the ball out in a tackle is not a knock on by the ball carrier. Did it cover knocking the ball out too?

Norfolk_Ref
31-10-15, 13:10
Law clarification 4 from 2011.

ďLaw 12, Definitions state: ďA knock-on occurs when a player loses possession of the ball and it goes forward, or when a player hits the ball forward with the hand or arm, or when the ball hits the hand or arm and goes forward, and the ball touches the ground or another player before the original player can catch it.Ē

The Law does not explicitly cover scenarios where the ball is ripped out of the possession of a ball-carrier by an opponent. In these situations it is almost impossible for the referee to determine exactly who last touched or had physical contact with the ball.
For the sake of improving consistency of ruling from referees worldwide, in the following scenarios, has a knock-on occurred? If so, who has knocked the ball on?

1. Ball-carrier A from the red team runs towards the blue teamís dead ball line. Opponent B approaches A from in front and rips the ball out of Aís hands such that neither player has possession of the ball and the ball travels towards the blue teamís goal line. (We often see this ruled a knock-on by A).

2. Ball-carrier A from the red team runs towards the blue teamís dead ball line. Opponent B approaches A from behind and rips the ball out of Aís hands such that neither player has possession of the ball and the ball travels towards the red teamís goal line. (We often see this either ruled play or a knock-on by B).Ē

Clarification of the Designated Members of the Rugby Committee
In each of the scenarios outlined the ball carrier is not responsible for losing possession.
In scenario 1 the ball has been ripped from the ball carrier by a player ripping the ball from the ball carrierís hands and it goes towards that playerís goal line. There is no infringement in Law and play should continue.

In scenario 2 the player ripping the ball out of the ball carrierís hands is effectively throwing the ball towards the opposition teamís goal line and this is an infringement which requires the referee to award a scrum with the non-offending team throwing in subject to advantage.

menace
01-11-15, 02:11
Yes I recall that incident and I agree the TV view clearly suggested a knock out and play on .....but the view the referee had from
running behind the players he would not have seen that (nor would the ARs see it and even if they did I doubt they would call it) and it would have looked to him that Habana just failed to secure the ball. An understandable call.

crossref
01-11-15, 08:11
Happened again on the final, I think, didn't it?