PDA

View Full Version : [Maul] 2016 LAW TRIALS - 17.6 (d) and (e) UNSUCCESSFUL END TO A MAUL



Ian_Cook
25-12-15, 20:12
Proposal
Replace both sections with the following section: A maul must start moving forward within 5 seconds it was started. If it does not do that and if the referee can see the ball, a reasonable time is allowed for the ball to emerge but the maul is ended. If it does not emerge within a reasonable time, a scrum is ordered.

Justification
Avoid the ball out of vision for a long time. The image of a ball carrier player behind the other five or six players is certainly negative for a contact sport as it clearly impedes the contest.

chbg
26-12-15, 01:12
The 12-year old has slipped the leash again. The maul has ended before a 'reasonable time' is allowed for the ball to emerge. So is that open play, with no off-side lines?

Dixie
26-12-15, 10:12
The 12-year old has slipped the leash again. The maul has ended before a 'reasonable time' is allowed for the ball to emerge. So is that open play, with no off-side lines? Indeed. And collapsing is legal, as is side entry. A tackle can be made, and the backs can get up into the face of the #10 before the ball emerges.

ChrisR
26-12-15, 20:12
Proposal
Replace both sections with the following section: A maul must start moving forward within 5 seconds it was started. If it does not do that and if the referee can see the ball, a reasonable time is allowed for the ball to emerge but the maul is ended. If it does not emerge within a reasonable time, a scrum is ordered.

Justification
Avoid the ball out of vision for a long time. The image of a ball carrier player behind the other five or six players is certainly negative for a contact sport as it clearly impedes the contest.

What has triggered chbg & Dixie is the part in bold. Indeed, the 12 years old proof reader was on break.

But I like the part in red.

See, I told you that attempting to advance the ball using a maul is not a contest. Just like sidestepping an opponent is not a contest and kicking the ball beyond the last opponent is not a contest. Or am I just not getting it?