PDA

View Full Version : Amendment 20.12(c) Offside at the scrum



ChrisR
26-12-15, 12:12
20.12 (c) OFFSIDE AT THE SCRUM

Current: When a team has won the ball in a scrum, the scrum half of the opposing team is offside if that scrum half steps in front of the ball with either foot while the ball is still in the scrum.

Amendment: When a team has won the ball in a scrum, the scrum half of the opposing team is offside if that scrum half steps in front of the ball with either foot while the ball is still in the scrum. This scrum-half may not move into the space between the flanker and No. 8 when following the ball through the scrum.

Justification: Assists with more continuous play and better ball distribution at scrum time. • Still allows for dominant scrum and halfback to exert pressure. • Opportunity also exists for World Rugby to clarify Law 20.10 (c) “If the hindmost player unbinds from the scrum with the ball at that player’s feet and picks up the ball, the scrum ends.” Is the scrum over as soon as the player unbinds, or as soon as the player picks up the ball? The former is how it is often refereed, but the latter would allow for much cleaner play in this phase of the game.

ChrisR
26-12-15, 12:12
Two thoughts here.

Acknowledges but doesn't define the 'pocket'. The pocket only really exists between the flanker and 8 when the flanker binds back with the 8 on the locks.

If they define that the scrum is over when the 8 unbinds then that would be simpler and it would help deter 8s hanging on by their fingers at the back with the ball at their feet.

Paule23
27-12-15, 23:12
Could they not just say "the scrum half also is offside if they advance beyond the back foot of the flanker"? Is that effectively what this law is meant to prevent, the scrum half going all the way round the scrum (with the ball) allowing an immediate tackle when the ball leaves the scrum?