PDA

View Full Version : Maul pushed back over try line options



ctrainor
21-02-16, 14:02
This happened yesterday, Red v blue. Red in possession driving for the line but held in tackle and a maul forms 5m out.
As the maul approaches the try line I see that blue have successfully ripped the ball but red pressure pushes the maul into the in goal area where blue touch it down.
I award scrum 5 to red.
Blue complain that as red had set the maul up and it had been driven over the line., they effectively were responsible for putting the ball into the in goal so it should be a 22.
Sold it and stuck to my guns with no real complaints.
Now if red had been clearly in possession but lost it after the maul had entered the in goal and blue touched it down, it would ave been a 22.
Was I right?

OB..
21-02-16, 15:02
This happened yesterday, Red v blue. Red in possession driving for the line but held in tackle and a maul forms 5m out.
As the maul approaches the try line I see that blue have successfully ripped the ball but red pressure pushes the maul into the in goal area where blue touch it down.
I award scrum 5 to red.
Blue complain that as red had set the maul up and it had been driven over the line., they effectively were responsible for putting the ball into the in goal so it should be a 22.
Sold it and stuck to my guns with no real complaints.
Now if red had been clearly in possession but lost it after the maul had entered the in goal and blue touched it down, it would ave been a 22.
Was I right?Yes. 22.7 (d) If a defending player threw or took the ball into the in-goal, and a defending player grounded it, and there has been no infringement, play is restarted by a 5-metre scrum. The position of the scrum is in line with where the ball has been touched down. The attacking side throws in the ball.

Who took it into the maul is irrelevant as there is no maul in in-goal. Blue clearly took the ball into in-goal.

ChrisR
21-02-16, 16:02
17.6 (c) Scrum following maul only applies to an unsuccessful end to a maul.
17.5 Successful end to a maul includes a maul entering goal.

So, you are correct both.