PDA

View Full Version : [In-goal] player on the ground presents the ball over his own try line

StroudBoy
05-04-16, 17:04
Hi i'm a newbie here and not a ref, but help with coaching a youth U14's team and find this site a useful source for understanding the 'Laws of the game.

Unfortunately for me at the weekend we did not have a ref available and as it was only a friendly youth game and with no-one else putting their hands up I ended up having to ref the game.

My question arises from a situation that occurred during the game.

A defending player close to his own try line legally turns over the ball at a ruck, that player is then taken/goes to ground, at this point an opposition attacking player again legal on his feet competes for and gets hands the ball. The player on the ground presents the ball back over his own try line to his team whilst the attacking player is still in contact with the ball.

1. Does presenting (pushing the ball along the ground not touching down) the ball over your own line whilst on the floor act as carrying the ball over the try line and grounding it? - 5m scrum attacking team

2. since the attacking player had contact with the ball could/should a try be awarded?

In this case I deemed the player on the ground to be holding in preventing the ball being turned over, and as they were virtually on the try line awarded a penalty try to the attacking team, but wanted to clarify what the correct decision should had been if he hadn't held in. i.e the ball is presented back over the try line by the defending team and then downwards pressure is applied by an attacking player.

Luckily the result of the game was not effected by my decision.

Thanks

DocY
I might not be picturing the situation correctly, but to try to answer:

1. No, if he didn't touch it down he didn't ground it (though it's a fine line and in practice I'd expect to see a defender ground the ball here for an attacking scrum)