PDA

View Full Version : Law 5: Time



the rushen
13-10-18, 12:10
This one has got our coaches scratching their heads and the consensus is the law is badly worded.


Regarding the new (May 2018) law 7.c

It says:



7. A half ends when the ball becomes dead after time has expired unless:

c. A penalty is kicked directly to touch without the ball first being tapped and without the ball touching another player.


The law states ...'and' without the ball touching another player. It does not state 'or'.

Therefore is it correct to say that the ball must be both tapped and played by another player before being licked into touch?

Or should either instance be allowed, in which case the law is badly worded.

I look forward to your thoughts.

Ezra

tewdric
13-10-18, 12:10
If you get rid of the double negative it is clear - from a penalty kick kicked directly into touch, the ball only becomes dead if it is first tapped or touches another player on the way.

Camquin
13-10-18, 13:10
The wording is correct - but very confusing.
However, it passes the naive reading age test used by the IRB which merely counts the number of words in a sentence and the number letters in words.

the rushen
13-10-18, 13:10
The wording is correct - but very confusing.
However, it passes the naive reading age test used by the IRB which merely counts the number of words in a sentence and the number letters in words.

It cant be both correct and confusing, surely? It sounds like the 'and' should be replaced by 'or' as there are two options for killing the half from a PK.

tewdric
13-10-18, 13:10
The wording is correct as both conditions have to be negative for the "unless" to apply.

OB..
13-10-18, 15:10
It cant be both correct and confusing, surely? It sounds like the 'and' should be replaced by 'or' as there are two options for killing the half from a PK.
If you put "or", then you could kick directly to touch to end the half/game as long as the ball does not touch another player.

A tap kick constitutes taking the penalty, so any subsequent kick is from open play. Putting it (directly) into touch therefore ends the half/game.

crossref
13-10-18, 16:10
So some example s
Blue PK
Blue kick it directly into touch, line out
Blue kick it indirectly into touch , half ends
Blue kick , red get a hand to it just before it goes into touch .. half ends
Blue tap it, then kick to touch , half ends

Camquin
13-10-18, 22:10
It is phrased and NOT(A) AND NOT(B) which equals NOT(A OR B)
So it is correct - however, it is not clear.

I believe the ball may bounce - as long the penalty kick ends up in touch before the ball is played, the line out will be taken.
It the ball goes TIG or over the DBL then the half ends.

crossref
13-10-18, 23:10
I believe the ball may bounce - as long the penalty kick ends up in touch before the ball is played, the line out will be taken.

No.
If the ball bounces, then time is up , end of the half.

There is only a lineout if the ball goes directly to touch

Dickie E
13-10-18, 23:10
What it should say is:

•7. A half ends when the ball becomes dead after time has expired unless:
•c. A penalty is kicked directly into touch

(this next bit is in definitions: )
Kicked directly into touch: The ball is kicked into touch without first landing on the playing area or touching a player or the referee.