PDA

View Full Version : The Receiver in a lineout doesn't join maul



breako
01-11-18, 10:11
Reds play Blue. At a Red lineout, they catch drive. When the maul sets up; it static.
The Blue receiver decides to not join the maul and not retreat 10M. He is hanging behind the maul to catch a Red player who might break from the back of the maul which has become static.

The hindmost of the maul hasn't crossed the line of touch - so is the blue receiver not offside?

crossref
01-11-18, 11:11
18.32
When a ruck or maul forms at the mark of touch, a participating player may either:
Join the ruck or maul; or
Retire to the offside line, which is the hindmost foot of that player’s team in the ruck or maul

Taff
01-11-18, 11:11
Reds play Blue. At a Red lineout, they catch drive. When the maul sets up; The Blue receiver decides to not join the maul and not retreat 10M. He is hanging behind the maul to catch a Red player who might break from the back of the maul which has become static. The hindmost of the maul hasn't crossed the line of touch - so is the blue receiver not offside?
What I think you're getting confused over is whether the LO is over.

If it isn't, then normal LO offside lines apply until it is over. The SH doesn't have to join a Maul.

crossref
01-11-18, 11:11
Well, no, once the maul forms the lineout is still going on, but some new offside lines form .. for the lineoit participants who are not part of the maul , it's now the back foot

chbg
01-11-18, 21:11
Likewise not all the 'forwards' have to join the maul - they can just wait to see what happens, from behind the backfoot.

Marc Wakeham
02-11-18, 15:11
Blue receiver does not have to join the maul.

ChrisR
03-11-18, 10:11
Reds play Blue. At a Red lineout, they catch drive. When the maul sets up; it static.
The Blue receiver decides to not join the maul and not retreat 10M. He is hanging behind the maul to catch a Red player who might break from the back of the maul which has become static.

The hindmost of the maul hasn't crossed the line of touch - so is the blue receiver not offside?

See law reference post #2. All "participating players" includes the receiver.

Only the thrower (and now in 2018 law) his opposite number have special rights to retire to the 10m. Left over from the days when wingers threw in the ball.