PDA

View Full Version : Bath v Wasps Touch Call



chopper15
16-02-08, 19:02
Bath v Wasps this pm;

Bath kicked from on own 22; ball direct thro' touch plane; Wasp one foot in FOP other raised over in-touch; stretsches over touch line ; catch ball then foot drops to in-touch. Linout given to Wasps.

Assuming my observation was right, was call correct or should I know by now?

OB..
16-02-08, 19:02
Provided the game has recorded, I'll look at it later.

My initial reaction is that the player was not in the air, and not in touch, so he would have been responsible for taking it in. However a National Panel TJ saw it differently. Was that because he saw the facts differently or because he has different guidelines?

Phil E
16-02-08, 20:02
......................or should I know by now?

Yes :D

I am not going to reply because if OB is looking into it, then its like a court case being under investigation!

chopper15
16-02-08, 21:02
Yes :D

I am not going to reply because if OB is looking into it, then its like a court case being under investigation!

Common on, Phil, If you saw it as I saw it stick your neck out!

dave_clark
16-02-08, 21:02
if you saw correct, line out to Bath. i'll stick my neck out on this one...

:)

Dickie E
16-02-08, 21:02
fair go, Chop, we all know OB is the Prof. Dumbledore of this site. :D

http://elouai.com/harrypotter/images/albus-dumbledore.gif

Phil E
16-02-08, 21:02
Common on, Phil, If you saw it as I saw it stick your neck out!

As you describe it, Bath line out.

However if the Wasps player had his "other foot" in touch on the ground, as opposed to raised over in-touch, then Wasps line out.

.........................but then you already knew that?

OB..
16-02-08, 23:02
I had a look at the incident. A very close call, but I think he had his foot on the line when he caught it.

Account Deleted
17-02-08, 11:02
Foot was in Touch. Correct call.

madref
18-02-08, 10:02
Hi

Saw one guy in manchester lie with his feet in touch stretch his arms out and touch the ball from a 22 drop out by red:)

Drop out directly into touch scrum down blue.

Players and spectators didn't like my decision much.

Madref

OB..
18-02-08, 13:02
If he only touched the ball, it is not in touch. It is only in touch if he holds it.