PDA

View Full Version : Held Up - France v Italy



AlanT
09-03-08, 18:03
Definitely held up, but would you have penalised the next Italian coming into the tackle area from the wrong side?

KML1
09-03-08, 22:03
Nope - can't have a tackle in-goal so no probs with where he came from.

For those law experts:

15.1 WHERE CAN A TACKLE TAKE PLACE
A tackle can only take place in the field of play.

Law 1 The Ground

DEFINITIONS
The Field of play is the area between the goal lines and the touchlines. These lines are not part of the field of play.

Good question though. Id never thought of it like that and now I have, it raises a whole load of interesting scenarios for those grounds with large in-goal areas.

Cheers
KML1

Andyr8603
10-03-08, 00:03
Sorry, I have not seen the incident, but my understanding is that as soon as the ball is held-up in the in-goal, it is dead, nothing else should happen to affect that situation at that point, the Referee should stop play and award a scrum to the attacking team on the 5 metre. This also applies to a 'maul-like' situation in the in-goal.