PDA

View Full Version : Question 424



GeorgeR
26-08-09, 20:08
Am I wrong in this? Law 22.12 states that a player may strike or come into contact with the flag as long as they are not in touch and score a try?

uestion Reference Number: 424
Blue #8 is running towards Gold's goal-line and strikes a corner flag post as the goal-line is crossed. Blue #8 grounds the ball just over the goal-line and near the touch-in-goal line, but never stepped onto a touch-line or touch-in-goal line. What do you do?
Incorrect - You answered A.
The correct answer is: D.
22.11b : When a player carrying the ball touches the corner post, the touch-in-goal line, or the dead ball line, or touches anyone or anything beyond those lines, the ball becomes dead. If the ball was played into in-goal by the attacking team, a drop-out shall be awarded to the defending team. If the ball was played into in-goal by the defending team, a 5-meter scrum shall be awarded and the attacking team throws in the ball.


21 out of 25 Correct: 84%
A. Award a try to Blue.
B. Award a scrum, with Blue throwing-in, five meters from the goal-line and in line with where the ball was grounded.
C. Award a scrum, with Gold throwing-in, five meters from the goal-line and in line with where the ball was grounded.
D. Award a drop-out to Gold; a drop-kick taken anywhere on or behind the 22-meter line.

David J.
26-08-09, 20:08
The questions and answers have not been updated to reflect recent (and not so recent) changes to the laws. You are correct.

Donal1988
26-08-09, 21:08
Use the quiz on the www.irblaws.com website. Its official IRB and its up to date.