PDA

View Full Version : I never knew what a law book looked like

tim White
21-07-06, 15:07
I frequently admit never having seen a law book when I was a 'player'. We all think we know the laws, get a short chat at the start of each season about any changes and then leave it to the ref.

I know this is true of many players even now, does it ring any bells?;)

OB..
21-07-06, 16:07
Before I started playing, my father bought me a little book entitled "Why the whistle went", an early RFU attempt to explain the complexities of the laws to the layman.

As a player I would ask questions about the laws, and even look things up.

I was a freak.

SimonSmith
21-07-06, 16:07
"Was".....? ;)

SONA
24-07-06, 14:07
Before I started playing, my father bought me a little book entitled "Why the whistle went", an early RFU attempt to explain the complexities of the laws to the layman.

As a player I would ask questions about the laws, and even look things up.

I was a freak.
My team, where I first learned to play in 1978 (University of Oklahoma) issued us the same book, Why the Whistle Went. I bet your edition is older than mine though. :D

OB..
24-07-06, 16:07
A quick google reveals that the booklet went through several editions. I found one copy labelled "Sixth Edition 1958". I obviously had the EW Kann edition published in 1947, since I started playing in 1949. (By chance I have a copy of the laws from that year in an old Playfair annual.)

I particularly remember a Fougasse cartoon of a group of Tibetans gathered round a rugby ball trying to work out how to play the game simply by reading the laws. I thought they were written in Tibetan too, at first.

SONA
24-07-06, 17:07
You started playing when? were you in your 20's in 1949? :D

OB..
24-07-06, 23:07
Cheeky!

In my day you started playing the full 15-a-side game when you went to senior school at eleven. A quick calculation will tell you that I am now 68. (Today, in fact.)

Simon Thomas
25-07-06, 23:07