• Twitter

  • Wayne Barnes, Dave Pearson & the red card that turned yellow

    All the Welsh must have had their hearts in their mouth, 65 minutes into a cracking game of rugby and Bradley Davies not only performs a tip tackle much worse than that of his captain at the world cup, but off the ball too, he was reacting to a shoulder charge on Adam Jones by Donnacha Ryan.

    Thanks to Alain Rolland's nerveless decision at the Rugby World Cup and the seemingly endless conversations the world is now aware that this type of tackle can surely only end one way, with Wales once again finishing the game with 14 men.

    The watching crowds wait and listen as an unsighted Wayne Barnes goes to talk to his Assistant Referee, Dave Pearson, an experienced IRB Panel Referee in his own right, to find out what has happened.

    The conversation unfolds as:

    WB: I've seen nothing

    DP: Lifted the player off the floor, twisted him past the horizontal, dropped him.

    WB: Ok, Recommendation?

    DP: Yellow

    WB: Yellow Card, thank you.


    Bradley Davies is then shown a Yellow Card and leaves the pitch. In an amazing twist of perception, the commentators then state that it should have been red, and as far as I am concerned they are right. It should have been a red every day of the week.

    I will once again (as I always do) state that the commentators only became sure of this after the replay, neither Dave Pearson or Wayne Barnes have this luxury (That's a separate debate).

    So why wasn't it a red? Perhaps Dave Pearson didn't see it clearly, after all play had moved away, but as an appointed Assistant Referee part of his job is to watch back play. The only people that really know will be those privy to the assessment of the match officials, however I am sure Wayne would have given a red card had he seen it, and I'm also sure Dave Pearson would be disappointed that he didn't call it correctly. Everything he said should have rung the red card alarm bells, apart from the fact that he didn't state the player had been dropped onto their head/neck.

    Further into the game Stephen Ferris is also Yellow Carded for a tip tackle. There has been debates about if it was or wasn't because Ian Evans still had a leg on the floor. I believe Wayne got this one right.

    Ferris attempts to carry out a tip tackle, all the signs are there, he lifted, he twisted and he drove down, Ian Evans saving grace was that Ferris only managed to grab one leg whilst doing it. The fact he failed to carry out the tip tackle properly is not an excuse to not get penalised for attempting it, the whole action of a tip tackle must be eradicated from our game.

    For the record both players have been cited by the Italian Citing Commissioner Achille Reali, I will make my predictions on the sanctions they will get.

    I believe that Bradley Davies will not see another game in this year's six nations, I expect the suspension to be 8 weeks, reduced to 6 if his record is clean.

    Stephen Ferris' case is a little more complicated, it depends on how the citing has been made, if it has been made for the attempt of a dangerous spear tackle, then I expect he will get suspended for 4 weeks, reduced to two if his record is clean.

    If the citing is for the actual tackle that took place, I believe no suspension will be given and Ferris will be free to continue playing.
    Comments 32 Comments
    1. Dixie's Avatar
      Dixie -
      Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
      Paul Ringer?
      Neath and Wales #15 from distant recollection, but I'd need a little more to go on to see the point you are making.
    1. crossref's Avatar
      crossref -
      Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
      Neath and Wales #15 from distant recollection, but I'd need a little more to go on to see the point you are making.
      he was sent off at playing for wales twickenham for a blow that didn't really connect..
    1. Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar
      Lee Lifeson-Peart -
      Quote Originally Posted by Dixie View Post
      Neath and Wales #15 from distant recollection, but I'd need a little more to go on to see the point you are making.
      He was #7 (or #6) - nearly took off John Horton's softly permed head.
    1. Davet's Avatar
      Davet -
      But - as I recall - there was some connection, and probably just as well it wasn't full on.
    1. Robert Burns's Avatar
      Robert Burns -
      Just seen a tweet from Ferris saying he's glad it's over lucky man, so I take it he got off.

      I'm glad, YC was enough.
    1. L'irlandais's Avatar
      L'irlandais -
      Quote Originally Posted by Robert Burns View Post
      Just seen a tweet from Ferris saying he's glad it's over lucky man, so I take it he got off.

      I'm glad, YC was enough.
      In fairness to the Irish camp they have let due process take place before saying anything much about the issue. Mark Tainton (assistant coach) said the ref thought it was a foul and that's all that matters. Admittedly the Ireland camp had also said they were very disappointed to hear Ferris had been subesequently cited.
    1. OB..'s Avatar
      OB.. -
      Quote Originally Posted by Davet View Post
      But - as I recall - there was some connection, and probably just as well it wasn't full on.
      My recollection is that Wales had been penalised 5 times for foul play (4 involving Ringer) when he went full tilt at Horton, leading with his elbow head-high. Fortunately Horton managed to duck, but I understand "Horton Heard a Who" as the attack whistled past.

      These days there would have been a Yellow Card well before that which might have made a significant difference - and we would probably have lost!
    1. L'irlandais's Avatar
      L'irlandais -
      Quote Originally Posted by Robert Burns View Post
      Just seen a tweet from Ferris saying he's glad it's over lucky man, so I take it he got off...
      Confirmed on IRFU website.
    1. OB..'s Avatar
      OB.. -
      Quote Originally Posted by L'irlandais View Post
      Confirmed on IRFU website.
      All's Well that Ends Well? (Well, nearly.)
    1. crossref's Avatar
      crossref -
      an
      Independent 6 nations disciplinary committee
      does that mean Davies is banned only from 6 nations rugby , or do they have authority over all rugby. In which case are they actually an IRB committee?
    1. OB..'s Avatar
      OB.. -
      Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
      an
      does that mean Davies is banned only from 6 nations rugby , or do they have authority over all rugby. In which case are they actually an IRB committee?
      ... depends if you are French or not ...
    1. crammond1964's Avatar
      crammond1964 -
      the irish lads cheap shot on bradley davies was worth a yellow card as it was both dangerous and no where near the ball ....... this was the cataylst that led to spear tackle .