Search:

Type: Posts; User: OB..; Keyword(s):

Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.37 seconds.

  1. Replies
    6
    Views
    108

    [Law] Re: Hand Off or Fend to the face/head/neck

    How do you fend of a tackler who comes in low?

    Many years ago I watched a touring Fijian player, Tikoisuva, playing on the wing against East Midlands. I was directly behind one run up the left...
  2. Replies
    16
    Views
    404

    [Law] Re: Laws of Rugby Union - 1922

    Glad to be of assistance.
  3. Replies
    4
    Views
    122

    [Law] Re: Have to wait for HIA

    https://www.world.rugby/news/444384?lang=en
  4. Replies
    16
    Views
    404

    [Law] Re: Laws of Rugby Union - 1922

    AFAIK the problem did not occur to anybody. Do children get insurance before climbing trees (or aren't they allowed to these days?)
  5. Replies
    16
    Views
    404

    [Law] Re: Laws of Rugby Union - 1922

    In 1991 ( I think) Stow on the Wold RFC played a centennial game under 1891 laws. It was fun to watch, even though they didn't get things quite right.
  6. Replies
    16
    Views
    404

    [Law] Re: Laws of Rugby Union - 1922

    The RFU Reference Library at Twickenham (free entrance - separate from the Museum) has an almost complete set of law books. IIRC there is one missing in the 1920s, but I don't remember which. You...
  7. Replies
    20
    Views
    776

    [Law] Re: New framework .. Biggar

    Yellow Card.
  8. Replies
    7
    Views
    302

    Re: Great to hear commentators praise a ref

    Nor can I.
  9. Replies
    45
    Views
    1,007

    [Law] Re: Charge down & off side

    10.8 A player offside under Law 10.4c cannot be put onside by any action of an opponent,
    apart from a charge down.So the charge down puts both 6 and 7 on-side. (Law 10.4c is the 10-metre law.)
  10. Replies
    3
    Views
    167

    [Golden Oldies] Re: Restart after a score

    201713.4 POSITION OF THE OPPOSING TEAM AT A KICK-OFFAll the opposing team must stand on or behind the 10-metre line. If they are in front of that
    line or if they charge before the ball is kicked, it...
  11. Thread: Placer Question

    by OB..
    Replies
    37
    Views
    723

    [Law] Re: Placer Question

    It happened in one of my games (3rd XV) some twenty years ago. I had been warned that the scrum half for one team was playing his first game in that position, so I was not surprised when he gathered...
  12. Thread: Placer Question

    by OB..
    Replies
    37
    Views
    723

    [Law] Re: Placer Question

    The usual interpretation of the law is that the scrumhalf can make a different choice at each scrum. It is just that once he has made his choice for that scrum he cannot change it.
  13. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    You think he can control his momentum sufficiently?!

    it would probably have been late - at least that was (to me) clearly his view.No time. It's a perfectly normal way to try and change...
  14. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    You chose to describe it as a charge, which implies intent. I would describe it as unplanned contact.

    In F1 I think it would be described as a "racing incident" ie something that happens when two...
  15. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    No. If the ball hadn't been kicked the tackle would probably have been legal since Beale was ready to wrap.

    However the kick changed everything and Beale had a split second to react. He chose to...
  16. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    Who said I would give a PK for a late tackle if Beale had carried though his initial aim?

    I think it was unfortunate timing. There was just enough time to realise his tackle would be late. His...
  17. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    I don't see any similarity with Farrell's tackling technique.

    Beale had his right arm out wide to make the tackle with wrap. When the ball was kicked he was caught: he could no longer tackle, so...
  18. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    Once the player kicks, Beale can no longer tackle him, so he then bring his arm in and tries to turn away. The two players clash.
  19. Replies
    78
    Views
    2,034

    [INTERNATIONAL] Re: Kurtley beale - lucky to stay on the field?

    At the moment the ball is kicked, Beale's arm is still out wide. He only brings it in when he tries to turn.
  20. Replies
    15
    Views
    496

    [In-goal] Re: Using your foot to prevent a try

    Section 21 is titled "In-goal". Perhaps he is arguing legalistically that when a player is "reaching out" to score a try, rather than just grounding the ball, he must necessarily be in the field of...
  21. Thread: Tackle change

    by OB..
    Replies
    34
    Views
    786

    Re: Tackle change

    Until told otherwise, I will assume it can bounce anywhere in the field of play before going into touch inside the 22.

    .Good point. I would assume so.
  22. Thread: Samoa v USA

    by OB..
    Replies
    59
    Views
    1,703

    Re: Samoa v USA

    The kicker is clearly attempting to control the ball!
  23. Thread: Samoa v USA

    by OB..
    Replies
    59
    Views
    1,703

    Re: Samoa v USA

    No we don't.
    Possession: An individual or team in control of the ball or who are attempting to bring it under control.
    The passer is NOT attempting to bring it under control.
  24. Thread: Samoa v USA

    by OB..
    Replies
    59
    Views
    1,703

    Re: Samoa v USA

    You mean Achilles and the tortoise?
    Surely that was a "proof" that he could never overtake the tortoise? In this case what matters is actual illegal contact.
  25. Thread: Samoa v USA

    by OB..
    Replies
    59
    Views
    1,703

    Re: Samoa v USA

    That is for the purposes of deeming a tackle legal. i do not see it is relevant here. If the player has released the ball and the kick does not hit him, I see no offence.
Results 1 to 25 of 500
Page 1 of 20 1 2 3 4