Search:

Type: Posts; User: smeagol; Keyword(s):

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.23 seconds.

  1. Replies
    37
    Views
    953

    [Law] Re: Penalty Kick at Goal Rules

    https://laws.worldrugby.org/?domain=10&clarification_era=upto&clarlaw=21&clarification=27

    Non-kicking team gets the throw if a PK for goal goes to touch.
  2. Replies
    30
    Views
    630

    [RWC] Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    In this case, the ref didn't mess it up, the know-all pundits know two things - jack and shit. The USA had scrum advantage, so it went back to the original call.
  3. Replies
    46
    Views
    1,255

    Re: Should the game clock be reset?

    I'll take a different view, I wish that more teams had kickers that could consistently hit from long range (and let them take such cracks at goal). If infringements between the 22m and halfway (or...
  4. Replies
    30
    Views
    630

    [RWC] Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    In this instance, he was 0m from where it landed, as he caught it directly from the ARG deflection, and I don't *think* there was a retreat. I can't find a clip of the scenario, and my memory is far...
  5. Replies
    30
    Views
    630

    [RWC] Re: USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    The way I read it, 10.4c still applies off the ARG touch (since it's not a charge-down), and the first line of 10.7 says that it's superseded by 10.4c

    With regards to the ball landing, the landing...
  6. Replies
    30
    Views
    630

    [RWC] USA/ARG - Offside from kick

    Very early in the game (I haven't found a video to point to yet), USA had scrum advantage from a KO. In a subsequent phase, Teo kicks, ball is touched (not charged down) by an opponent, and a USA...
  7. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    At this level? No. If you can get a pipeline from the Chicago area and keep the newly-liberated students from getting into alcohol-related trouble, you're golden.
  8. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    Scholarships? Psh. I've heard rumors of them (including one HS player who lost a scholarship to noted powerhouse Lindenwood after spitting on a referee following a playoff game), but not at this...
  9. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    DePaul @ WIU men (College men D2).

    Time will tell if the home side has been able to recruit enough players to play an official game, having forfeited their first four (but still playing/traveling...
  10. Replies
    3
    Views
    155

    [In-goal] Law App vs Law Website

    In an email thread within my society, someone found a discrepancy in how Law 21.15 is worded. App has the old law regarding a player standing past the DBL or TIG and playing a moving ball, website...
  11. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    Kenosha @ Chicago Silverbacks (D4)

    First trip to the big city, and because of a logistical snafu I get the 10am KO.
  12. Replies
    38
    Views
    882

    [Maul] Re: Maul Law 16.8 & 16.9

    If they flopped down to kill the ball, yes.
  13. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    Spoke too soon - while 20 minutes into my drive to the match, got a call from the match secretary, the pitch was waterlogged and the school cancelled all activities.

    This week - NW Woodsmen @...
  14. Replies
    5
    Views
    298

    [In-goal] Re: Charge down in in-goal

    I think it depends on the scenario, and whether the teammate of the kicker was onside immediately prior to the kick (i.e. ball passed from the ruck and kicker hits someone at the breakdown), was...
  15. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    Game will officially be a forfeit, but I'm heading up to referee/mentor anyway - Western Illinois @ Illinois State men. Interested in seeing how Western is doing, given that they are coming off a...
  16. Replies
    4
    Views
    290

    [Law] Re: Ball played man laws or rules?

    In your hypothetical, the grid provided for 18a covers the ball hitting a player and going into touch.
  17. Thread: Offside or not

    by smeagol
    Replies
    35
    Views
    1,475

    [Law] Re: Offside or not

    Per the letter of the law, I think it's play on. Prior to this thread if this happened in my game, I'd probably go for accidental offside.
  18. Thread: Offside or not

    by smeagol
    Replies
    35
    Views
    1,475

    [Law] Re: Offside or not

    Given how the law book defines a charge down, IME the player doing the charge down is intentionally playing the ball. If red kicks and green charges down, green has played the ball, ergo all red...
  19. Re: How's this season going re new law interprretations down in the weeds?

    This describes more than one referee in my area, and one was my "assigner" until 6-7 years ago.
  20. Re: How's this season going re new law interprretations down in the weeds?

    In the weeds in my neck of the woods, I still occasionally have to yell at forwards who hear a short whistle and automatically retreat 10m, especially this early in the season.
  21. Replies
    63
    Views
    2,260

    Re: Where are you this weekend - 2019-20

    Michigan State @ Illinois B-side match (USAR assigns the To3 for the A-side, since it's D1A).

    Having seen the home side at Old Boys during Labor Day weekend, I sincerely hope they've gotten their...
  22. Thread: Choke 'Tackle'

    by smeagol
    Replies
    28
    Views
    1,425

    [Law] Re: Choke 'Tackle'

    Knee goes down, it's a tackle. Players need to have this drilled into their heads, since usually one of two things happens:

    1) knee goes down - tackler(s) don't release - PK to attacking team for...
  23. Replies
    6
    Views
    486

    [Law] Re: Failed Intercept in Fifteens

    I agree with this, but during sevens season (June-July in my neck of the woods), it was made very clear that intent was irrelevant, any failed intercept was a YC. As a player, I would have probably...
  24. Replies
    6
    Views
    486

    [Law] Failed Intercept in Fifteens

    In my first fifteens match of the season, both captains were under the impression that any failed intercept was an automatic YC.

    I have not seen anything to indicate that the sevens interpretation...
  25. Replies
    24
    Views
    1,195

    [Law] Re: Scoring a try against the padding/post

    Grounding the ball requires the ball being at the base. Also, look at the image accompanying 8.2.
Results 1 to 25 of 376
Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4