The referee does not hold up play, but if the kicker is gong to place kick for the posts, then the referee gets the TJs behind them.
The law before 2000 included:
27 note (vi) If the kicker...
Type: Posts; User: OB..; Keyword(s):
The referee does not hold up play, but if the kicker is gong to place kick for the posts, then the referee gets the TJs behind them.
The law before 2000 included:
27 note (vi) If the kicker...
For a kick at goal, the referee needs the TJs to be behind the posts.
The referee can always ask the player what he intends to do.
What clubhouse?
Very few clubs have a clubhouse of their own. I came across two: one was a university team, and the other a barn on someone's farm with an oil drum fire and a keg of beer. No...
195924 (b) If however the kicker has indicated to the Referee that he intends to attempt a kick at goal, it is illegal for him to kick the ball in any other way.
I don't know when that first came...
...but the place kick to touch IS explicitly (if inelegantly) covered by law.
If you choose to apply Law 19, it says:-
The referee awards a scrum for any other reason not covered in law.
In...
20.8 The kicker may punt, drop-kick or place-kick (other than for touch) the ball.
The place kick to touch is clearly an infringement.
2016 law book
21.4 [...] Sanction: Unless otherwise stated...
Under 10.6.c.ii the pass puts Red 5 onside. The question of a QTI offside line does not arise in that case.
In the scenario where Red 10 is tackled into touch, Red 5 was offside before the ball...
The crucial point is that he did not answer legalistically, but using common sense about the best way to deal with the situation.
Not perfect by any means. The player stops 10m away from the player who called Mark, whereas at a QTI you are arguing that a player offside before the ball went into touch is free to tackle the...
1996.
It varies widely here. Higher level teams tend to have a person whose job it is to look after the referee. One club I go to announces the name(s) of the official(s) over the tannoy and that even...
I raised this question with a senior ref. Here is his response.
Law 10.9 A player who is offside at a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout remains offside, even after the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has...
I said no such thing. The problem is that current law does not cover the situation at all, so we are having to make it up.
That is what we mean by a zombie ball: it is dead but can be brought...
The ball has to be dead before anyone can take a QTI. Therefore the QTI is not like a pass in open play.
Open play: The period after a kick-off, restart kick, free-kick, penalty or set piece and before the next phase, or the period between phases of play, excluding when the ball is dead.
The ball is...
10.1 A player is offside in open play if ...
10.2 A player can be offside anywhere in the playing area.
18.3 A player who carries the ball into touch must release the ball immediately so that a quick throw may be taken. Sanction:Penalty.
10.9 A player who is offside at a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout remains offside, even after the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has ended.
Does this law apply? It is not clear , but I suspect it does.
It's a common misconception that the ball has to cross the 10m while still in the air. As you rightly say, that is not the case. Well done the referee (I hope he shouted "Play on" when it was clear...
The player is in touch. Jumping in the air does not change that, since he lands back in touch.
But the only way for B9 to play the ball is to go past B7 thereby putting himself onside.
(As long as B7 has the sense not to run back past the ball!)
"da mihi castitatem et continentam, sed noli modo"
St Augustine? Rare, I accept, but let's not pre-judge..
That is a false dichotomy. The law proscribes certain talk such as defamation, racism etc.
(Apart from the fact that Folau is not discussing - he is pontificating.)