Search:

Type: Posts; User: CrouchTPEngage; Keyword(s):

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4

Search: Search took 0.05 seconds.

  1. Replies
    57
    Views
    1,936

    [Law] Re: Charge down & off side

    Top Tip -
    I've often watched refs , at much higher level than mine, who shout "Touched !" after an attempted charge-down ( where the ball glances a finger-tip of an attempted charge-down but still...
  2. [Maul] Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Yeah ignore that. Sorry ! It was my mobile phone getting a text when I was recording it. Not on the game audio.
    Lol
  3. [Maul] Re: After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    Admittedly I had to watch it a few times but ,for me, I see the mai
    ul collapse, the ball is on the ground and the Gloucester player is on his feet trying to play it . It looks available . Then Toby...
  4. [Maul] After Maul Collapse. Can opposition play it with hands when off feet? Bath v Glos

    I had a situation in an end-of-season game. Maul collapsed. Opposition player then ( off-feet) changed his bind and moved his hands onto the ball ( which was otherwise available ). He was clearly...
  5. Replies
    22
    Views
    1,302

    [Law] Re: Time and PK

    I'm gonna guess this was prompted by the end of the Bristol Sale game. In THAT specific example, I was fairly OK that the ball didnt crossed the plane of the dead-ball line on 79:59 time. Or at least...
  6. [In-goal] Re: Defender passes ball into own in-goal. Ball kicked dead by attacker.

    That's interesting, crossref.
    Is the law book clear on what happens when an attacking player takes the ball into in-goal and the ball is made dead by "an attacking player" ?
  7. [In-goal] Defender passes ball into own in-goal. Ball kicked dead by attacker.

    I thought we had done this one to death but I was surprised by 2 things in this video from the Leicester v Bristol game last weekend.

    Listen to the commentary. Commentator says that attackers have...
  8. [Tackle] Re: No-tackle. Can offside lines be estabilshed by being over the ball ?

    FWIW - The ball carrier did not get any contact. He was falling to ground and indeed was on the ground when the defender put his hand on him. So, a tackle has not been completed. Hence the question...
  9. [Tackle] No-tackle. Can offside lines be estabilshed by being over the ball ?

    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1gpwI3hcFc6rCdT3vsFdI8_CHct0DqrW_

    Interesting debating point came up whilst I was watching this game.
    I've changed my mind over this and interested as to how you...
  10. Replies
    32
    Views
    1,677

    [7's/10's] Re: "tackler release"

    Sorry, Colin. My view of that video shows the ref calling release when the ball-carrier has one knee down. Perfectly correct.
    Yes, both players have their hands on the ball but players are coached...
  11. [Law] Re: Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

    But , if that happens near half-way, tapping the ball backwards with one hand is a good tactic to attempt to re-gain possession.
    SO, I guess , that same technique cannot be risked in the in-goal...
  12. [Law] Re: Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

    Well, I am sure Blue 15 was making an effort to disrupt Red's attempted catch and score. Blue 15 only had a palm of 1 hand near the ball and managed to tap it backwards before Red took it into his...
  13. [Law] Contest in the air or deliberately knocked dead

    Red attacking and are 10 metres out from blue's goal line. A high kick is coming down between the posts and 1 metre into the in goal. Red 14 and Blue 15 leap into the air to contest the ball. Red 14...
  14. Replies
    11
    Views
    913

    [Law] Toulouse red card.

    Quick Video : https://youtu.be/1RP8yIMMh7A

    Luke Pearce ( who had a brilliant game BTW ) took his time and reviewed many times before issuing a red card. I agreed with this decision.

    However, I...
  15. Replies
    30
    Views
    1,981

    [Law] Re: Try annulled for foul play

    Very interesting. Obviosuly penalty advantage for Saracens does not allow them to infringe with impunity. Hence a difficult but ultimately fair decision for me. Lesson 1, Don't retalliate !
  16. [Line out] Are there any offiside lines at a quick throw

    Incident from my game yesterday. Made me think for a second.

    Blue 10 doing a classic exit. Blue 10 kicks to touch. Line of touch it half-way line. Blue 11 who was onside, is the sole chaser.
    The...
  17. Replies
    25
    Views
    1,491

    [Law] Re: Next year's Law Trials

    I like the idea of the 50 22 and , having watched much RL, it does get applauded as a piece of skill. It shouldnt be too onerous on a ref, given we already are required to make a judgment on...
  18. Replies
    2
    Views
    312

    Re: Premiership Rugby Cup Final

    I know what you mean. When I first saw it , in real time, I thought he moved after being tackled. However, that last little arm movement with the ball was probably adjudged to be a "reach out to...
  19. Replies
    54
    Views
    2,948

    Poll: [Ruck] Re: Is the ball out?

    Pre season 2018-19, I attended a couple of meetings where the (June 2018) conference clarifications were communicated with videos.
    We were advised that "if the ball is clearly exposed the ruck is...
  20. Replies
    18
    Views
    1,278

    [Law] Is a punch always a red card ?

    I'm having a debate with another ref here and we cannot agree.


    If you see a player punch another player in the stomach ( not head ), without being provoked, would you think about a YC or a RC ?...
  21. [Law] Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Yeah. Sorry about that ;-)
    The vision in my head is that he definitely goes to ground first ( his body and legs are parallel and close to the ground ). As he slides towards the ball, he realises he...
  22. [Law] Re: Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Interesting. Thanks. It was material, in that his team scored a try from his "kicking" on the ground. Does that alter anything?
  23. Replies
    50
    Views
    2,551

    [Law] Re: another indadvertant touchdown

    That was also a bit interesting. I remember being asked at the time. "Why is he not allowed to take a shot at goal ?". I thought the laws allow him to use up the 60 seconds with a shot at goal. This...
  24. [Law] Player goes to ground. Can you award a try ?

    Scenario :
    Red are 10 metres from Blue's goal line. The ball has spilled side-ways from a ruck. Multiple players see that the ball is clearly out of the ruck and is on the ground. They all move...
  25. Re: Brought into touch game over ? France V Scotland

    Hate to disagree but , I take "Directly" to mean ball must reach touch BEFORE being touched by another player or bouncing. (its not in the definitions section ) . In this example, given that we...
Results 1 to 25 of 383
Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4