Search:

Type: Posts; User: MyLarney; Keyword(s):

Search: Search took 0.00 seconds.

  1. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,064

    [RWC] Re: Beast tip tackle!

    That is the point. Control and whether we will see more of these incidents given the current emphasis and clamp down on head contact in tackle forcing bigger tacklers to go low .... and will then...
  2. Replies
    16
    Views
    1,064

    [RWC] Beast tip tackle!

    One feels for Beast! No it is never excusable to go through the horizontal on a tackle and he was fortunate. A red wouldn’t have been completely out of place. But Beast is 6ft, Etzebeth 6ft8” etc the...
  3. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    RWC 2019, Scotland v Samoa: Not strictly Rule 10.4.c but wonderful to see referee Pascal Guazere’s positive assertion of the offside rule in the context of kicking ahead and insisting that everyone...
  4. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    Respectfully disagree. If that was the application of “materiality” as suggested above, why then from a scrum with the 10 putting the ball up in the air, do the forwards in front get told to hold and...
  5. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    Oops, maybe pass was forward?
    3919
  6. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    I think the pass left Reece’s hands going backwards at best maybe flat.

    The rule is clear though, Smith from being in front of both the kicker and the receiver (Reece ) should “retire...
  7. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    Here is the thing, if he (the 9) was told to hold the move ie. the cross filed kick pass won’t work as the risk of the receiver being isolated is too high. Therefore the 9 has to run the diagonal...
  8. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    Here is the youtube clip of the try.

    https://youtu.be/E6YpuoI6XAQ

    https://youtu.be/E6YpuoI6XAQ
  9. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    Are we saying that in the analogy (All Blacks v Springboks RWC match last Saturday) ....Referee Garces, and the two touch judges and the TMO all felt that Smith being ahead of the kicker and moving...
  10. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    See updated photos at

    https://twitter.com/MyLarney/status/1176146758696603648?s=17

    Apologies wrong twitter/photo reference in previous reply
  11. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    Agree with crossref and Marc Wakeham.
    Law 10.4 c clearly changes the dynamic by virtue of the “kick” which introduces a clear offside line for everyone in front of the kicker so it is slightly...
  12. Replies
    28
    Views
    3,227

    [Law] Re: Offside support players

    Law 10.4 c clearly changes the dynamic by virtue of the “kick” which introduces a clear offside line for everyone in front of the kicker so it is slightly different than just drifting from set play...
  13. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    So are we saying in the above analogy (Smith) could have been penalised or is the forward movement/ only “towards the ball”? I think the issue is two fold (a) the scrum half runs immediately to a...
  14. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] Re: the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    According to Law 10.4 c a player (Smith) is offside if in front of the kicker (Mo’unga) then fails to “retire immediately” but instead moves forward in anticipation of receiver (Reece) putting him...
  15. Replies
    26
    Views
    1,434

    [Law] the cross field kick pass and law 10.4 c

    In RWC All Blacks v Springboks open play leading to AB’s first try .... shouldn’t Smith have “retired immediately” per law 10.4 c after Mo’unga’s kick before setting off to supprt Reece? See twet...
Results 1 to 15 of 15