Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

      
  1. #1
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    23 Jan 12
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    First time post for me. This is one from a game for which I ran the line yesterday.
    An attacking winger dives over the line expecting to score. He's tackled in mid-air by a defender who turns him on his back on the ground in-goal. With his arms pinned, the attacker is unable to touch down. He releases the ball, which rolls away from him and the tackler reaches out and touches it down.
    What's the right call?
    I'll tell you what was given later.

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    DrSTU's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Wherever I may be living at the time!
    Grade
    Runs like mini T-rex
    Join Date
    24 Dec 08
    Posts
    2,669
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    22 drop out

  3. #3

    Referees in America


    Soc/Assoc
    Texas
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    21 Dec 11
    Posts
    6
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Defender downed the ball, 22 m drop out. Unless the attacking winger was held for an inordinate amount of time before he released the ball, in that case 5 m scrum for attacking side for not releasing in tackler.

  4. #4

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    18,549
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    129

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    You cannot have a tackle in in-goal, so there is no obligation on the ball-carrier to release the ball - he could get a 5m scrum under 22.10. However he chose to release the ball, so it was a touchdown for a 22 drop out.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    8,193
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    95

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Sheen View Post
    He releases the ball, which rolls away from him and the tackler reaches out and touches it down.
    What's the right call?
    In which direction did the ball roll?

    If towards the dead-ball line it is a knock-on with scrum restart.

    Otherwise 22 drop-out.

    And, in the words of Capitano Schettino, "welcome aboard".

    index.jpeg

  6. #6
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    23 Jan 12
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Thanks for the replies. On my advice, the referee gave a 22-drop out, in part I think because we were so awe-struck by the tackle. It seems to have been the right decision, unintentionally. I didn't realise then, as seems to be the case based on your advice, that in-goal is not counted as part of the field of play. I take this to mean, although there is some debate, that there is no requirement on the tackler to release the tackled player, allow him to put down the ball, get back on his feet before playing the ball (or for other defenders to enter the tackle area from their side of the ball), that would follow a tackle on the field of play. On reflection, I thought it should have been a penalty try as a result of foul play preventing a try being scored, or at least a five-yard penalty.
    As the tackled player was one of our (Under 13) boys, I got a lot of grief from the parents afterwards. Hey, maybe I was right!

  7. #7

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    18,549
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    129

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Law 15.1 A tackle can only take place in the field of play.


    (Belated Welcome.)
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    DrSTU's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Wherever I may be living at the time!
    Grade
    Runs like mini T-rex
    Join Date
    24 Dec 08
    Posts
    2,669
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    26

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    There's no debate. There's no onus on the quasi-tackler to release the player.

    A penalty try would have been completely the wrong sanction.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Sheen View Post
    Thanks for the replies. On my advice, the referee gave a 22-drop out, in part I think because we were so awe-struck by the tackle. It seems to have been the right decision, unintentionally. I didn't realise then, as seems to be the case based on your advice, that in-goal is not counted as part of the field of play. I take this to mean, although there is some debate, that there is no requirement on the tackler to release the tackled player, allow him to put down the ball, get back on his feet before playing the ball (or for other defenders to enter the tackle area from their side of the ball), that would follow a tackle on the field of play. On reflection, I thought it should have been a penalty try as a result of foul play preventing a try being scored, or at least a five-yard penalty.
    As the tackled player was one of our (Under 13) boys, I got a lot of grief from the parents afterwards. Hey, maybe I was right!

  9. #9
    Player or Coach

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    23 Jan 12
    Posts
    5
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Does this mean the requirment to wrap up a tackled player - rather than push or charge - is suspended over the try-line? I've seen defenders get away with hurling themselves at the ball-carrier to dislodge the ball and prevent him grounding many times. Surely the right thing to do is to give a penalty try to deter unsafe tackling?

  10. #10

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    8,193
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    95

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Sheen View Post
    Does this mean the requirment to wrap up a tackled player - rather than push or charge - is suspended over the try-line? I've seen defenders get away with hurling themselves at the ball-carrier to dislodge the ball and prevent him grounding many times. Surely the right thing to do is to give a penalty try to deter unsafe tackling?
    Law 10 offences are a different kettle of fish to tackle offences.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-12-11, 07:12
  2. Tackled player playing on
    By damo in forum Ruck/Maul/Tackle Forum
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 10-09-11, 00:09
  3. tackled close to the line
    By crossref in forum In-Goal Forum
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 06-10-10, 09:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •