Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,727
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    There cannot be a tackle in in-goal, so the ball carrier does not have to release, and if I were his coach I would be cross with myself for not explaining that in goal just hang on to the ball if you cannot get it down - which would result in a 5m scrum attacking ball, for held up.

    Dangerous play is however still dangerous play - and should be penalised as foul play. If foul play prevents a probable try then a Penalty Try is in order.
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  2. #12

    Retired Referee in NZ
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    ANZ Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    9,468
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Received)
    168

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Sheen View Post
    Does this mean the requirment to wrap up a tackled player - rather than push or charge - is suspended over the try-line? I've seen defenders get away with hurling themselves at the ball-carrier to dislodge the ball and prevent him grounding many times. Surely the right thing to do is to give a penalty try to deter unsafe tackling?
    Don't be confused by the two uses of the word "tackle" in the Law book.

    1. There is "tackle" (a verb) as in the act of tackling an opponent, where a player grasps an opponent.

    2. There is "tackle" (a noun) describing the situation where a player has grasped the ball carrier and has brought him to ground.

    When we say "a tackle cannot take place in-goal", it is the noun version we are referring to; the description in Law 15. So effectively, none of the provisions of Law 15 apply in-goal. There is no gate; players may play the ball with their hands from any direction, whether or not they are off their feet. No release of ball or ball carrier is required etc etc. effectively its a free-for-all (within the confines of Law 10 of course).

    So, to sum it up, a tackler can tackle (verb) the ball carrier anywhere in the "playing area", but if he is brought to ground in-goal, no tackle (noun) has legally taken place (under Law 15)

    Clear as mud?
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 24-01-12 at 18:01.
    .


    "The danger in arguing with idiots is that you risk being dragged down to their level and beaten with experience."

  3. #13

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    North, somewhere
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor and Cref
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,554
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    14

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Note to all; please don't wait too long in this situation before you blow the whistle for something (held up, unplayable, timewasting, knock-on etc) or you can almost guarantee a fight, late dive on players on the floor, wrestling with flying elbows, cat fight etc
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  4. #14

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    18,540
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    128

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Quote Originally Posted by tim White View Post
    Note to all; please don't wait too long in this situation before you blow the whistle for something (held up, unplayable, timewasting, knock-on etc) or you can almost guarantee a fight, late dive on players on the floor, wrestling with flying elbows, cat fight etc
    Not like the old days.

    In the nineteenth century there was something called a "maul in goal". If a group of players went into in-goal with the ball off the ground among them, then anybody not touching the ball had to leave. Subsequently each player who lost contact had to leave until eventually the last few standing managed to get the ball to the ground. Apparently this had been know to go on for 10 minutes or more. It was abolished in 1892.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #15

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,727
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Quote Originally Posted by tim White View Post
    Note to all; please don't wait too long in this situation before you blow the whistle for something (held up, unplayable, timewasting, knock-on etc) or you can almost guarantee a fight, late dive on players on the floor, wrestling with flying elbows, cat fight etc
    Entirely agree
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,043
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    116

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Good thread! Welcome, Mr Sheen - a cracker to kick off with.

    So in summary, we see that although players can be brought to ground in-goal, the act of doing so does not constitute a Tackle, and so Law 15 is not brought into play. As a result, neither player is required to release the other or the ball, nor are they required to roll away. Neither rucks nor mauls can exist in-goal either, so effectively we remain in open play. The referee is looking for a VERY quick decision on: ball grounded by either team? OR Ball held up? Either way, expect a quick whistle and either a score or a 5m scrum.

    No-one has yet given full chapter and verse from the Good Book, so here it is:

    15.1 WHERE CAN A TACKLE TAKE PLACE
    A tackle can only take place in the field of play.


    Law 1: DEFINITIONS
    The Ground is the total area shown on the plan. The Ground includes:
    The Field of play is the area (as shown on the plan) between the goal lines and the touchlines. These lines are not part of the field of play.


    16.1 FORMING A RUCK
    (a) Where can a ruck take place. A ruck can take place only in the field of play.


    17.1 FORMING A MAUL
    (a) Where can a maul take place. A maul can only take place in the field of play.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    AlanT's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Sussex
    Grade
    9
    Join Date
    30 Mar 05
    Posts
    586
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    I had a captain last week claim that there was no such thing as a knock-on in goal.
    Alan ................

  8. #18

    Referees in England
    Lee Lifeson-Peart's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    (South) Yorkshire Referee's Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    12 Mar 08
    Posts
    5,707
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    104

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Quote Originally Posted by AlanT View Post
    I had a captain last week claim that there was no such thing as a knock-on in goal.
    Did the definition of "forward" in Law 12 once say towards the opposing team's goal line and not dead ball line so by virtue of being beyond the goal line an attacking team couldn't knock on in in-goal?

    I heard that one about 25 years ago.
    Now let's check out the latest sound from Courtney Love's Hole - An unknown US DJ

  9. #19

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,727
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    I have heard it occasionally over many years - rare urban myth.

    If the law did once say goal line not DBL then it would have meant it was illegal to pass the ball backwards in oppos in-goal - would have been odd
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  10. #20

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 8 and Advisor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 11
    Posts
    699
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    19

    Default Re: Tackled in-goal...what's the right call?

    Excellent thread, thanks to all! And Ian's verb vs noun explanation was entirely clear and will be appearing on our website no doubt before long! Many thanks.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 01-12-11, 07:12
  2. Tackled player playing on
    By damo in forum Ruck/Maul/Tackle Forum
    Replies: 63
    Last Post: 10-09-11, 00:09
  3. tackled close to the line
    By crossref in forum In-Goal Forum
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 06-10-10, 09:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •