Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 59

Thread: Weird In-Goal Play Question

      
  1. #1

    Referees in America


    Soc/Assoc
    RRSNY
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    06 Mar 12
    Posts
    98

    Question Weird In-Goal Play Question

    Hi,

    I had a weird question about a play that I saw occur in a team's own in-goal area. I'll preface this by saying it was a D1 College Men's rugby match in the USA.

    What happened was an attacking player from team A was close to scoring a try against team B. The player from team A grubbered the ball into team B's try-zone. Then, a defending player from team B (who was already in their own try-zone) picked up the ball (from inside their try-zone) and punted it out of their try-zone. After the ball left their try-zone, a player from team A charged-down the kick and the ball went directly back into team B's try-zone. Finally, a player from team B grounded the ball in their own try-zone.

    What is the resulting action that occurs? Who technically brought the ball into team B's try-zone before the defending player from team B grounded the ball?

    (I'm new here, so sorry if this is not the best place to make this post.)

    Thank You,
    -Jon DeAgro

  2. #2

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London
    Grade
    Level 6+1
    Join Date
    08 Nov 07
    Posts
    3,431

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    Welcome Jon.

    It is very simple - once you get your head round it.

    Who put the ball in goal. So in your case if the kick from team b went back into the field of play before a charge it down then team a put it in. If the kick was charged down and it never entered the field of play team a put it there.

    Simple!

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,433

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    and a 22m Restart team B
    Ciaran Trainor

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,936

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    team A grubbered the ball into team B's try-zone. So A put in in-goal .... or "try zone" if you prefer.
    team B .... picked up the ball ... and punted it out of their try-zone. So B kicked it out
    the ball left their try-zone .. So it's not in-goal anymore
    a player from team A charged-down the kick and the ball went directly back into team B's try-zone. So A put it back in-goal
    a player from team B grounded the ball in their own try-zone. So the ball is grounded and made dead.
    What is the resulting action that occurs? Forget the first part, once the ball went out of in-goal you start from scratch. The ball had been kicked out of in-goal and Team A charged it down putting the ball back in-goal (or "try-zone" if you prefer). So ball put in the try zone .... sorry in-goal by A and made dead is a 22m Drop Out, or abbreviated to 22DO. If Team B had passed it back into in-goal and the ball had been charged down in-goal, it would have been an a 5m Scrum to Team A.

    Just ask yourself "Who put it in-goal?" Attackers = 22DO. Defenders = 5m scrum


    (I'm new here, so sorry if this is not the best place to make this post.) Welcome, but please don't use "try-zone" again.
    Last edited by Taff; 06-03-12 at 09:03.

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,731

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    1) Attacker grubbered ball in. So attacker responsible for ball going in-goal. If defender had simply grounded ball at that point then he gets a 22DO, which is a better place to clear from than in your own ingoal! I trust his coach discussed this with him afterwards.

    2) However, defender punts ball to try to clear, and ball goes back over goal-line - but is charged down by attacker and goes back in goal. So - again - attacker is responsible for ball going in goal. If ball is now grounded by defender (or kicked out over DBL or TiG) then 22DO awarded

    In this example then even if the ball had not cleared the goalline when the defender tried to kick it it would still be a 22DO when the defender finally grounded it - the ball was originally put in goal by the attackers.

    All that matters is who put the ball in-goal, if attackers did so - 22DO; defenders then 5m attacking scrum.

    The only time it's worth trying to clear with a kick from in-goal is if the defenders put in goal themeselves.
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  6. #6

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,491

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    Pretty much the only times I can think of when (in your example) Team A put the ball into the in goal and it would NOT result in a 22DO would be if a player in Team A knocked the ball forward, and then the ball was grounded by a player in Team B. This would result in a 5m scrum, with Team B throwing the ball in.
    "You can Google for information, but you can't Google for understanding"
    - Jay Windley

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    Pretty much the only times I can think of when (in your example) Team A put the ball into the in goal and it would NOT result in a 22DO would be if a player in Team A knocked the ball forward, and then the ball was grounded by a player in Team B. This would result in a 5m scrum, with Team B throwing the ball in.
    If you are the OP, don't read this.

    However, if you are an experienced ref, you will know that if Team A kicks the ball in-goal and a Team B player picks up the moving ball in-goal while having a foot in touch, then there is an option of a 22DO or a scrum where the ball was kicked. Equally, if the ball itself went THROUGH in-goal to go beyond either the Touch-in-Goal or Dead Ball lines, then the same option applies. Others that may apply but not (as Ian makes clcear) in this scenario of a grubber: If a kick-off, restart or 22DO is kicked into in-goal without touching another player and is then immediately made dead by Team B, the options are kick again or a scrum at the place of the kick. Also, if the kicker from Team B failed to kick the ball out of in-goal, and it was collected by a team-mate closer to the goal line and then grounded, that team-mate is offside and a PK is awarded on the 5m line. Equally, if the Blue player caught the ball on the full in in-goal and shouted MARK, the mark is awarded as a FK on the 5m line. There may be others.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  8. #8

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,726

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    If we are going to get esoteric, then we need to look at the charge-down. This implies that the two players were very close, with the kicker just inside the in-goal and the opponent just outside. If the kicker was 5m back and the opponent blocked the kick, I would not regard that as a charge down, but as a knock-on.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,731

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    Depends how high the ball was kicked - 5m back flat trajectory into opponent who is trying to block it - charge down.

    If the ball was high and loopy and the opponent tried to catch not block - knock on.
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Simon Thomas's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire / Southern Federation
    Grade
    RFU Group Match Observer
    Join Date
    03 Dec 03
    Posts
    12,846

    Default Re: Weird In-Goal Play Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    Pretty much the only times I can think of when (in your example) Team A put the ball into the in goal and it would NOT result in a 22DO would be if a player in Team A knocked the ball forward, and then the ball was grounded by a player in Team B. This would result in a 5m scrum, with Team B throwing the ball in.
    Ian - good point. I have seen referees get this wrong, and the urban myth applied - "we will take the advantage sir and have the 22m please".

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •