Was watching a bit of Super League the other day and saw a potential interesting decision for the video ref. Apologies, but I cannot recall the game (maybe Bradford??) but Steve Ganson was refereeing.
A player went in for a score, but deliberately did not put the ball down as he crashed over, hoping to ground the ball much closer to the posts. Ganson did not realise this and blew for time off as the player got up to run under the posts and asked the video ref for advice. As it turns out, the try was chalked off for a problem earlier in the play.
My question is what would have happened if there was no problem with the play - clearly a try was about to be scored, but no grounding had occurred. Is there any room for common sense, or would it have been ruled out. How would you restart???
PS. Same question for the union refs - although the circumstances of it being sent upstairs would clearly be different.