Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

      
  1. #1
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Exclamation Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Should just be a quick one for people to answer.
    I am not sure if laws 17.5 and 22.10 are opposing.

    If an attacking team pushes a maul into the in-goal such that the ball is over the goal-line put fails to ground it, then I would award a 5 metre scrum to the attacking team.

    However, a counter point of you was put to me recently that the maul should be judged to have stopped moving and so the 5 metre scrum should be awarded to the team that didn't take it into the maul i.e. usually the defending team !

    I would like to know which interpretation of the laws is correct here ?
    Thanks

  2. #2

    Referees in Singapore
    talbazar's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Singapore Society of Rugby Union Referees (SSRUR)
    Grade
    IRB Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Apr 10
    Posts
    702
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    71

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    As you pointed out, law 17.5 states the maul successfully ended when the ball went over the goal line.
    So at that point, there's no maul anymore.

    If the late-maul collapses, then the ball is held up (law 22.10 as you mentioned).

    The answer to the point which was given to you is that the maul ended successfully when the ball crossed the goal line

    Hope it helps (and I'm correct too).
    Cheers,
    Pierre.
    Rule #1: If the law doesn't forbid it, it's allowed.
    Rule #2: If it ain't in the Law Book, don't make it up.

  3. #3
    Slowing down these days

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    21 Jan 09
    Posts
    413
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Thanks. Great point about the "ending successfully".
    Hence I am right to award attacking 5 metre scrum and communicate "ball held-up in-goal"

  4. #4

    Referees in Canada
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster


    Soc/Assoc
    Ontario/Toronto
    Grade
    Every Grade
    Join Date
    10 Nov 03
    Posts
    9,644
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    54
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Yep, spot on!
    "This is not Soccer!" ©Nigel Owens
    ------------------------------
    Robert Burns
    RugbyRefs.com Webmaster
    ------------------------------

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    330

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    I think you have the positoon clear now. Relevant laws are:

    Law 1 Definition: The Field of play is the area (as shown on the plan) between the goal lines and the touchlines. These lines are not part of the field of play.


    17.1 FORMING A MAUL
    (a) Where can a maul take place. A maul can only take place in the field of play.


    17.5 SUCCESSFUL END TO A MAUL
    A maul ends successfully when :
    ...
    • the ball is on or over the goal line.


    22.6 SCRUM, RUCK OR MAUL PUSHED INTO IN-GOAL
    A scrum, ruck or maul can take place only in the field of play. As soon as a scrum, ruck or maul is pushed across the goal line, a player may legally ground the ball.This results in a touch down or try.


    22.10 BALL HELD UP IN-GOAL
    When a player carrying the ball is held up in the in-goal so that the player cannot ground the ball, the ball is dead. A 5-metre scrum is formed. This would apply if play similar to a maul takes place in in-goal. The attacking team throws in the ball.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  6. #6

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,591
    Thanks (Received)
    117
    Likes (Received)
    1581

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    For once, let's give the IRB credit for foreseeing the potential problem and dealing with it clearly.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member Cave Dweller's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    28 Apr 12
    Posts
    339
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Question. So if a maul or a scrum ends when it enters the in goal era does it mean if both collapse the referee can not award a penalty try for collapsing both?
    Statistics: The only science that enables different experts using the same figures to draw different conclusions.

  8. #8

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,925
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    341

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cave Dweller View Post
    Question. So if a maul or a scrum ends when it enters the in goal era does it mean if both collapse the referee can not award a penalty try for collapsing both?
    I can see your logic, but I assume you can still give a PK for Dangerous Play.

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    330

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Cave Dweller View Post
    Question. So if a maul or a scrum ends when it enters the in goal era does it mean if both collapse the referee can not award a penalty try for collapsing both?
    My first thought was: not necessarily - the dangerous play laws still apply. However, unless you can consider trying to ground a ball in in-goal in a contested situation as "acts contrary to good sportsmanship", I struggle to find anything in law that would prevent this. However, if I were to see a non-ball carrier trying to bring part or all of a group of players to ground in in-goal, I'd penalise on safety grounds and take on the chin the moans (if any) at the end of the game.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  10. #10

    Referees in Switzerland
    FlipFlop's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Swiss Rugby Federation
    Grade
    Swiss Federation
    Join Date
    13 Jun 06
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    208

    Default Re: Who gets scrum after maul pushed into in-goal ?

    Correct - yo ucannot penalise collapsing maul or scrum if it is in-goal.
    A "Maul" that goes in-goal is fiarly commonly collapsed, as the ball carrier tries to score.
    A scrum to be judged as ended due to going in-goal, is when the ball crosses the line. Then you can collpase it - but to what benefit? Better to get a hand to the ball (try or make it dead).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •