Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Knock on into touch - option?

      
  1. #11

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,691
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1443

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    However if the winger knocks it forward into touch, do you go back to a scrum for the forward pass?
    8.5 would suggest so

    8.5 More than one infringement

    (a) When there is more than one infringement by the same team:

    If advantage cannot be applied to the second offence the referee applies the appropriate sanction to the first offence.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks (Received)
    23
    Likes (Received)
    233

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    If the non-offending side takes a quick throw in and are haring off towards the try line.
    Do you need to call them back.

    Camquin

  3. #13

    Referees in America
    smeagol's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    CARFU RS
    Join Date
    20 Apr 12
    Posts
    436
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    28

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    If the non-offending side takes a quick throw in and are haring off towards the try line.
    Do you need to call them back.

    Camquin
    Yes. They cannot take a QTI if there is no lineout.

  4. #14

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,685
    Thanks (Received)
    129
    Likes (Received)
    1641

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    YOoucannot play advantage when the ball is dead, so we are back to an old conundrum: Can a team be given advantage by the referee or do they have to do something to earn it?
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #15

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    445

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    However if the winger knocks it forward into touch, do you go back to a scrum for the forward pass?
    Yes.
    No lineout option in this case.
    If the centre passes forward and the the ball goes into touch without the winger getting a finger to it, then option of LO where it crossed the touch line or scrum where the centre threw the ball forward.
    If the centre throws forward and the winger gets a hand to it and then it crosses the touch line, either forward of or behind the winger, then call it back for the scrum for the throw forward.
    Keeps everything simple and IMO as the new law is intended to work.

    If the non offending team take a QT when there should be no LO option, then blow it up and make them come back for the scrum.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  6. #16

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OB..:234985
    YOoucannot play advantage when the ball is dead, so we are back to an old conundrum: Can a team be given advantage by the referee or do they have to do something to earn it?
    And the other conundrum, if a ball goes into touch and the quick throw is on then is it properly dead? It's the old zombie ball

    If a blue player catching a high ball knocked on then tried to re gather and knocked on again this time into touch , I think it would be harsh to stop red chaser from immediately taking a quick throw in

  7. #17

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    445

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    If a blue player catching a high ball knocked on then tried to re gather and knocked on again this time into touch , I think it would be harsh to stop red chaser from immediately taking a quick throw in
    If a blue player knocks on in the middle of the field from a high ball, we would play a scrum advantage to red. If the blue fumbler touches the ball again before red get a chance to play it with advantage, we blow the whistle and play the scrum with red to feed. Why should that change near the side line?
    The only time you would play the LO(with QT available)/scrum option would be if blue player attempts to catch a high ball and juggles the ball which goes forward and then gets his hands to it again before he finally drops/fails to secure it and the ball goes to ground and into touch (it hasn't been a knock on until it touches another player or the ground).
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  8. #18

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,464
    Thanks (Received)
    166
    Likes (Received)
    1933

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat:235010

    If a blue player knocks on in the middle of the field from a high ball, we would play a scrum advantage to red. If the blue fumbler touches the ball again before red get a chance to play it with advantage, we blow the whistle and play the scrum with red to feed..
    Not necessarily, if the second knock on is directly at the feet of a red chaser you will play advantage again from the second knock on, expecting the red player to pick it up

    I don't see why the off balance but alert quick thinking red player couldn't allow the ball to roll into touch and then, just like any other knock on, take advantage of the LAT by taking a quick throw

  9. #19
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    MidSouth Rugby Ref Society (USA)
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    05 Mar 12
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    Do you give the option if there is a knock on into touch in goal? Its a big difference to the attacking team, either a 5m opposing scrum if no option or a 22 drop if there is an option and its taken

  10. #20

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,691
    Thanks (Received)
    120
    Likes (Received)
    1443

    Default Re: Knock on into touch - option?

    Quote Originally Posted by NikneRef View Post
    Do you give the option if there is a knock on into touch in goal? Its a big difference to the attacking team, either a 5m opposing scrum if no option or a 22 drop if there is an option and its taken
    No. This only applies to touch
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •