Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    MidSouth Rugby Ref Society (USA)
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    05 Mar 12
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Apparently, my home country is unique in allowing the receiver (typically the scrumhalf) to join the lineout before the throw. When I count numbers, do I count the receiver? In a match today, Blue team consistently brought their receiver in. I instructed Gold team to match including the receiver, which they did not appreciate .

    The situation was as follows: (1) blue lineout, blue brings 3 in the line plus the receiver ;(2) gold, without a receiver, puts 4 in the lineout, anticipating the blue receiver will join. Is there a free kick to blue regardless? A free kick if blue does not join?

    What's the decision?

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Davet's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire RURS (UK)
    Grade
    Society Assessor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    12,731
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    First of all it depends which team is throwing.

    They set the max number in the line. My expectation here would be that number does not include the receiver.

    Blue throw... they have 3 in line plus a receiver - opposition can put no mre than 3 in the line - they may or may not choose to have a receiver.


    Blue throw... they have 3 in line and no receiver - opposition can put no more than 3 in the line - they may or may not choose to have a receiver.
    “We raise the watchword, liberty. We will, we will, we will be free!"
    George Loveless 1834
    Of more worth is one honest man to society and in the sight of God, than all the crowned ruffians that ever lived.
    Thomas Paine 1776
    FREE All of PUSSY RIOT - JAIL PUTIN

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,786
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1192
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    We're not allowed to discuss this without being branded anti US by Ddjamo

    There is a USA specific forum, where people can discuss their union specific guidelines, without getting confusing answers from the rest of the world.

    Welcome to the forum by the way, keep the questions coming.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  4. #4

    Referees in America
    Rank Bajin!
    SimonSmith's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Virginia (USA)
    Grade
    B3
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,324
    Thanks (Received)
    48
    Likes (Received)
    705

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Welcome, and not a daft question at all.

    We do have to work within the GMG.

    In old versions of the law book, the phrase "lineout players" had definitions; in that scenario 3+receiver from throwers and 4+0 from defence would be a free kick.
    I can't find those definitions in the current book, but would apply the previous definitions and give the FK
    The object of life is not to be on the side of the majority, but to escape finding oneself in the ranks of the insane.
    Marcus Aurelius

    Man may do as he will; he may not will what he wills
    Arthur Schopenhauer

    Tullamore Dew, the Afghan Wigs, and many, many strippers - how to get over your ex. How true.

  5. #5
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,207
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    314

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    NikneRef - this is a good question even if it is a USA issue. The rest of the world (doesn't include Davet), including the IRB, have chosen a different interpretation of Law 19.8(i) and its exception.

    In the situation you describe my instructions to the non-throwing team, in the USA, would be:

    "The throwing team determines numbers in the LO. You may have your receiver join the LO immediately prior to the throw."

    The laws don't distinguish between throwing and non-throwing teams in this regard.

  6. #6

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,472
    Thanks (Received)
    107
    Likes (Received)
    1514

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Quote Originally Posted by SimonSmith View Post
    I can't find those definitions in the current book
    p122
    Lineout payers are the players who form the two lines that make a lineout.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    MidSouth Rugby Ref Society (USA)
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    05 Mar 12
    Posts
    17
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Thanks

  8. #8

    Referees in America


    Soc/Assoc
    RRSNY
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    06 Mar 12
    Posts
    98
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    I had a similar question to this not too long ago which I asked on here. The response I received was that the numbers are based on:

    Lineout players are the players who form the two lines that make a lineout.

    ...And if the receiver of the team throwing in, joins the lineout before the ball is thrown, the receiver of the other team may also join the lineout before the ball is thrown. (If the other team does not have a player in the receiver position, then they're stuck matching numbers based on the number of throwing team's players who initially form the line in the lineout; and are out of luck if the throwing team's receiver joins the lineout before the ball is thrown as well.)

  9. #9
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,207
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    314

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    jdeagro - in the USA, as per the GMG, the receiver can join the lineout before the throw.

    It doesn't limit this to the throwers team. Therefore I think that the non-throwing receiver can join even if the thrower's receiver doesn't.

    That, of course makes a hash of the lineout count. There is a solution that, if I remember correctly, is in practice down under. That is to allow the receiver to join but to require a lineout player to drop off at the same time. Allows for creative LO play and keeps the numbers the same.

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    TheBFG's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    14 Apr 08
    Posts
    4,359
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    204

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    am i missing something here

    non throwing team dont have to match numbers they just can't have more, simples!
    __________________________________________________ _______

    happy with this posting

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •