Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 36

Thread: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

      
  1. #21
    Banned

    Soc/Assoc
    n/a
    Grade
    < player
    Join Date
    20 Jan 12
    Posts
    6,000
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    251

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Would referees allow an attacking team to throw without a receiver?

    didds
    I think Law expects a receiver to be in position at formation, the same as it does for a defending hooker.

    Thereafter receiver can join the line, and the throwing hooker can fill the space the receiver has vacated.

  2. #22

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,519
    Thanks (Received)
    58
    Likes (Received)
    885

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Quote Originally Posted by Browner View Post
    I think Law expects a receiver to be in position at formation, the same as it does for a defending hooker.

    Thereafter receiver can join the line, and the throwing hooker can fill the space the receiver has vacated.


    yerss... but presumably if the attacking side are in formation and throw before rthe defenders ahave gotten into place ("quickly taken") a ref isn't going to stop their tactical advantage through snappy orgainsation to insist on a defending receiver? Whereas he might insist on an attacking receiver (?)

    didds

  3. #23

    Referees in England
    Waspsfan's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Group
    Grade
    Level 5
    Join Date
    09 Oct 10
    Posts
    504
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    32

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Nothing wrong with having no receiver. In your scenario the numbers match and no need to sanction.

    Don't believe me - turn to Sky Sports right now. IRB sevens is on, almost never see a receiver in the lineout - and there are absolutely no sevens variations regarding the lineout.

  4. #24

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,482
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1516

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Quote Originally Posted by Browner View Post
    I think Law expects a receiver to be in position at formation, the same as it does for a defending hooker.
    The law specifies that the defending team MUST have a player in the 5m area. It does not say they must have a receiver, just that he must be 2+m from the lineout (if there is one). That last bit in brackets is not in the law, but is a valid interpretation, and is the one that has generally been accepted when this subject has come up before.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #25

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,519
    Thanks (Received)
    58
    Likes (Received)
    885

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    which begs the question (and apologies of this has been discussed before and I have forgotten) does this mean the throwing side cannot throw in UNTIL the defending side has put someone in the 5m channel? ie they cannot "quickly take" a lineout until this player is there, and so the defenders can always put this player in last in order to control the pace of the game.

    Or is a QT on until such time as that player arrives (and that is surely wrong? ie 2 players from each side in place is sufficient to stop the QT?)

    didds

  6. #26

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,482
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1516

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    I have always argued that once the throwing team have met their legal requirements, they do not have to wait for their opponents (except for reductions in numbers). If they choose not to they accept the consequences.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  7. #27
    Banned

    Soc/Assoc
    n/a
    Grade
    < player
    Join Date
    20 Jan 12
    Posts
    6,000
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    251

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    The law specifies that the defending team MUST have a player in the 5m area. It does not say they must have a receiver, just that he must be 2+m from the lineout (if there is one). That last bit in brackets is not in the law, but is a valid interpretation, and is the one that has generally been accepted when this subject has come up before.
    Thnks OB, I've read the subtle wording difference and can see the ]"must have a player" difference between (i) & (j) in 19.8

    TBH Ive not had a team line up without a receiver in last two seasons.

  8. #28

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,898
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    330

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Quote Originally Posted by viper492 View Post
    ... What is not clear, and what I couldn't understand from this thread so far, was the ruling regarding numbers.
    To pose the scenario that occurred:

    4 Men in lineout from attacking team with no receiver. Matched by 4 from defending side + receiver. Are the defending team violating the numbers rules?
    I would say the opposition were allowed 4 + receiver.

  9. #29
    Rugby Club Member viper492's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    SNRRA
    Grade
    L1
    Join Date
    11 May 14
    Posts
    39
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    1

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Cheers Taff and Roblev

    Our ruling at the time was that playing without a receiver meant that the opposition were still allowed match numbers + receiver so I'm glad to hear some agreement


    Edit: Fix spelling

  10. #30

    Referees in England
    lawsons's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    London Society
    Grade
    Level 7
    Join Date
    26 Sep 05
    Posts
    237
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Receiver joining lineout before throw (and numbers!)

    Sorry I'm a bit lost. Throwing in team have called a two man line out. This is matched by the defending team. I won't now allow the receiver to join and make 3 man, without someone dropping out. The only way I'll allow the throwing in side to add a receiver is to have a 'full' line out i.e. 8 players.

    If the throwing in side want a reduced number line out, they need to specify it before the line out to give the defending side a chance to match numbers. By doing that they can't then change their mind without giving the opposition time to match. You'll then have 3 vs 3+1. What benefit is that ?

    So in reality I have never seen this and don't anticipate seeing it. Is this a US only thing and if so, I don't see any benefit to it.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •