Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Mark - @Clean Catch

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London
    Grade
    Level 6+1
    Join Date
    08 Nov 07
    Posts
    3,418
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Mark - @Clean Catch

    The player must make a clean catch direct from an opponent’s kick and at the same time shout “Mark”. A mark cannot be made from a kick-off, or a restart kick except for a drop-out.

    ****

    During the Ireland Scotland game CJ awarded a mark to Scotland. There was an up and under and the Blue full back leaps to catch the ball at the same time the Green chaser does the same.

    They catch the ball simultaneously (and in the subsequent tussle Green win the ball)

    The Blue full back called MARK. Which was awarded.

    Would you have awarded this (thereby ruling that a clean catch can be made be 2 opposing players at the same time?)

  2. #2

    Referees in Ireland
    Chogan's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ARLB
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    03 Feb 12
    Posts
    412
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    Many members of the aviva crowd were not happy with this call. Having not seen it before I was left pondering the decision.
    I believe that if two opponents catch a kicked ball inside the 22 cleanly, one has a right to call mark and the other doesn't. My only issue was if the catch was indeed clean or not.
    If you look hard enough, there'll be a penalty in there somewhere.

    The greatest ruck is one that never forms, but sometimes it can't be helped. #Woshkabomy

  3. #3

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,892
    Thanks (Received)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    327

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    Quote Originally Posted by Toby Warren View Post
    ... Would you have awarded this (thereby ruling that a clean catch can be made be 2 opposing players at the same time?
    Well 2 opposing players can obviously make a clean catch at the same time ... neither player fumbled it. Its rare, but it's clearly possible.

    Good call by the Ref IMO.

  4. #4

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    923
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    Catch was clean enough, you're allowed to call the mark with both feet in the air so no issue for me. Correct call.

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London
    Grade
    Level 6+1
    Join Date
    08 Nov 07
    Posts
    3,418
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    But is a clean catch 'clean' when two people catch it at the same time?

  6. #6

    Referees in Wales


    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    10 Feb 04
    Posts
    4,089
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    Quote Originally Posted by Chogan View Post
    I believe that if two opponents catch a kicked ball inside the 22 cleanly, one has a right to call mark and the other doesn't. My only issue was if the catch was indeed clean or not.
    Well clearly only one side's player can call a mark. After all the other in not in his own 22.

    Does the law prevent a mark being awarded if two players catch the ball? Well I see nothing in law to prevent it if the player does not fumble the ball. But is that the law's intent? I think I'd allow it. But I'm happy to be told otherwise.
    The tenet that a referee is the sole arbiter of fact and law, allows me to be wrong, not stupid.

  7. #7

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    923
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    47

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    Well since the law doesn't provide any further explanation of what clean means, let's apply some logic. Defening player complies with everything needed for a mark if there was no pressure from the opponent's chase. He caught the ball, there was no fumble thereof and he called the mark whilst airborne.

    Really, I don't see the issue.

  8. #8

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    London
    Grade
    Level 6+1
    Join Date
    08 Nov 07
    Posts
    3,418
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    44

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    The issue is the skill is to catch the ball cleanly.

    If someone else is holding / catching the ball is that clean, did the defender execute the skill to high enough standard to get the reward?



    (I don't know the answer - my gut feel is I wouldn't have awarded it as the defender didn't catch it cleanly but can see the other point of view)

  9. #9

    Referees in Wales


    Soc/Assoc
    Cardiff
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    10 Feb 04
    Posts
    4,089
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    Quote Originally Posted by Toby Warren View Post
    (I don't know the answer - my gut feel is I wouldn't have awarded it as the defender didn't catch it cleanly but can see the other point of view)
    I feel the same but lean on the other side.
    The tenet that a referee is the sole arbiter of fact and law, allows me to be wrong, not stupid.

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    16,545
    Thanks (Received)
    126
    Likes (Received)
    1601

    Default Re: Mark - @Clean Catch

    I didn't see it, is there a video on-line anywhere?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •