Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 118

Thread: red card decision Canada v Scotland [MERGED]

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Holland


    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 2
    Join Date
    15 Oct 11
    Posts
    704
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    18

    Default red card decision Canada v Scotland [MERGED]

    http://www.rugbydump.com/2014/06/377...with-the-elbow

    Your thoughts? Fair enough call in my humble one. Brave one though.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 16-06-14 at 01:06.

  2. #2

    Referees in Ireland
    FightOrFlight's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leinster Branch
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    09 Dec 13
    Posts
    117
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    8

    Default Sinclair RC v Scotland

    http://www.rugbydump.com/2014/06/377...with-the-elbow

    Although there are many people getting their willies out and waving them around shouting "this is a man's sport" I think the ref got this right. Regardless of how physical the game is you cannot elbow a guy in the head...that's just dangerous. The player moves his arm clearly to fend the tackler and leads with the elbow to the head..... all day in my opinion
    Award the try under 22.4(g) and put on your riot gear!

  3. #3

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Southern RL
    Grade
    Rugby League
    Join Date
    31 Oct 10
    Posts
    1,091
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    27

    Default Re: red card decision Canada v Scotland

    I think I would probably prefer 10 in the bin (on the grounds that it is dangerous contact and it is somewhat reckless, but there seems not to be any intent to contact the head), but I won't argue too hard against the decision reached.

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    Simon Thomas's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire
    Grade
    SWG Match Observer
    Join Date
    03 Dec 03
    Posts
    12,462
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    60

    Default Re: red card decision Canada v Scotland

    I thought a RC was harsh, and YC would have sufficed. Elbow was kept in to the side not extended.

    The overall temper of match was physical but fair.

  5. #5

    Referees in Ireland
    Shelflife's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Connacht
    Grade
    LEVEL 3 IRFU
    Join Date
    22 Sep 12
    Posts
    314
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    21

    Default Re: red card decision Canada v Scotland

    I don't think its even a pen, red keeps his arms by his side and blue effectively makes contact with his arm.

    For me its more of a head butt to his elbow then anything. red doesnt lead with his elbow, there is a push away movement after blue makes contact but that's it.
    Courage is knowing what lies on the other side and still opening the door !

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    1,214
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    70

    Default Re: red card decision Canada v Scotland

    Quote Originally Posted by irishref View Post
    http://www.rugbydump.com/2014/06/377...with-the-elbow

    Your thoughts? Fair enough call in my humble one. Brave one though.
    Nailed-on RC for me. I must humbly disagree with those saying that he kept his arms/elbow by his side; he didn't, andthe follow-through is evident. Stop the video at 0:42 as Red #5 receives the ball and transfers it to his left hand. Note the position of the right elbow, level with his body, pretty much tucked in; as he goes into contact, Red #5 swings his right shoulder forward, and his arm lifts so there is 6 inches of daylight between the elbow and his side as he hits the Blue tackler flush on the jaw with the elbow. As Blue falls to the floor, the arm is now pointing forward and down from the shoulder at 45 degrees.

    For me, Red #5 lines the tackler up and deliberately strikes him with his elbow as they make contact. As the ref says, he had no choice but to RC him.

  7. #7

    Referees in America
    pwhaling's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    New York and Niagara RRS
    Grade
    C2
    Join Date
    09 May 11
    Posts
    233
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    5

    Default

    From the stands (and a few beers deep) I thought it was a harsh call. Seeing the replay again (and a wee bit more sober) I think he got it right.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    Drift's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    06 Jan 10
    Posts
    1,501
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    15

    Default Re: Sinclair RC v Scotland

    Happy to disagree with you two there. He didn't lead with the elbow, more pushed away with it after it being pushed against his body.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    1,214
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    70

    Default Re: red card decision Canada v Scotland

    Quote Originally Posted by RobLev View Post
    Nailed-on RC for me. I must humbly disagree with those saying that he kept his arms/elbow by his side; he didn't, andthe follow-through is evident. Stop the video at 0:42 as Red #5 receives the ball and transfers it to his left hand. Note the position of the right elbow, level with his body, pretty much tucked in; as he goes into contact, Red #5 swings his right shoulder forward, and his arm lifts so there is 6 inches of daylight between the elbow and his side as he hits the Blue tackler flush on the jaw with the elbow. As Blue falls to the floor, the arm is now pointing forward and down from the shoulder at 45 degrees.

    For me, Red #5 lines the tackler up and deliberately strikes him with his elbow as they make contact. As the ref says, he had no choice but to RC him.
    Oops: #5 = #6.

  10. #10

    Referees in Ireland
    FightOrFlight's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leinster Branch
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    09 Dec 13
    Posts
    117
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    8

    Default Re: Sinclair RC v Scotland

    Quote Originally Posted by Drift View Post
    Happy to disagree with you two there. He didn't lead with the elbow, more pushed away with it after it being pushed against his body.
    For me his elbow is moving forward to contact the head...regardless of how piss poor the tackler's position is you cannot use the elbow to fend and if you do so you are liable to have this happen
    Award the try under 22.4(g) and put on your riot gear!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •