Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: End of maul

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Ireland
    Shelflife's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Connacht
    Grade
    LEVEL 3 IRFU
    Join Date
    22 Sep 12
    Posts
    557
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    98

    Default End of maul

    Red V Blue,

    Blue take the ball on and a maul is formed, I call maul, maul continues forward and then goes to ground.

    I can see the ball and its available but a red player who was in the maul is going to make it awkward for blue to get the ball (given the position he has ended up in).

    I foresee blue boots all over him so I whistle and award blue a scrum on the basis that the ball is available but unplayable.

    not an ideal situation but felt that to let it continue could have led to boots on bodies and a flashpoint.

    Thoughts?
    Courage is knowing what lies on the other side and still opening the door !

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: End of maul

    Unsuccessful end to a maul = Turnover. Red does not have to roll away or release. Good play by Red. He won the turnover. For me you've got it wrong.


    The ball can't be both unplayable and available. The two are mutually exclusive.

  3. #3

    Referees in Ireland
    FightOrFlight's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leinster Branch
    Grade
    IRFU Level 2
    Join Date
    10 Dec 13
    Posts
    175
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    12

    Default Re: End of maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelflife View Post
    Red V Blue,

    Blue take the ball on and a maul is formed, I call maul, maul continues forward and then goes to ground.

    I can see the ball and its available but a red player who was in the maul is going to make it awkward for blue to get the ball (given the position he has ended up in).

    I foresee blue boots all over him so I whistle and award blue a scrum on the basis that the ball is available but unplayable.

    not an ideal situation but felt that to let it continue could have led to boots on bodies and a flashpoint.

    Thoughts?
    Brought in by Blue...not used...scrum Red ball. The ball is not available if it is unplayable. It also must be playable immediately when the maul goes to ground so as to avoid the said boot fest and flashpoint. My rule of thumb would be when the 9 goes down to get the ball he can get hands on and get it out. If not turnover.
    Award the try under 22.4(g) and put on your riot gear!

  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,299
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: End of maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelflife View Post
    the ball is available but unplayable.
    As others have suggested, I can't picture how this can be. Can you explain further?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5

    Referees in Singapore
    talbazar's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Singapore Society of Rugby Union Referees (SSRUR)
    Grade
    IRB Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Apr 10
    Posts
    702
    Thanks (Received)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    71

    Default Re: End of maul

    What about law:
    17.5 Successful end to a maul
    A maul ends successfully when :
    the ball or a player with the ball leaves the maul
    the ball is on the ground
    the ball is on or over the goal line.


    If the ball carrier goes to ground, the ball is on the deck and some players (at least 1 from each team) are on their feet...
    Don't we have a ruck?
    And as such, Blue shall not interfere with the ball...

    Maybe a few more details could help in the OP's situation...

    My 2 cents!
    Pierre.
    Rule #1: If the law doesn't forbid it, it's allowed.
    Rule #2: If it ain't in the Law Book, don't make it up.

  6. #6

    Referees in Ireland
    FightOrFlight's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Leinster Branch
    Grade
    IRFU Level 2
    Join Date
    10 Dec 13
    Posts
    175
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    12

    Default Re: End of maul

    Quote Originally Posted by talbazar View Post

    If the ball carrier goes to ground, the ball is on the deck and some players (at least 1 from each team) are on their feet...
    Don't we have a ruck?
    And as such, Blue shall not interfere with the ball...

    Maybe a few more details could help in the OP's situation...

    My 2 cents!
    Pierre.
    If Blue go down over the man or ball they do not have to roll away in this case and in 90% of occasions they will always find themselves on the man or ball stopping it coming back so they can earn the turnover.
    Award the try under 22.4(g) and put on your riot gear!

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,299
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: End of maul

    Quote Originally Posted by FightOrFlight View Post
    If Blue go down over the man or ball they do not have to roll away in this case and in 90% of occasions they will always find themselves on the man or ball stopping it coming back so they can earn the turnover.
    I like Talbazar's logic. If ball is on ground after a collapsed maul then a ruck has formed and Blue can't then grab the ball to stop it. If ball is wrapped up prior to going to ground then turnover scrum
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,201
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: End of maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    I like Talbazar's logic. If ball is on ground after a collapsed maul then a ruck has formed and Blue can't then grab the ball to stop it. If ball is wrapped up prior to going to ground then turnover scrum
    This^^^

    People should read Clarification 2 - 2011 if unsure before posting
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  9. #9
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: End of maul

    Nothing in the OP to suggest the ball was got to ground. so let's ignore the "maul into ruck" issue. It's a collapsed maul with an unavailable ball. No "post tackle" requirements! result = Turnover!

  10. #10

    Referees in Ireland
    Shelflife's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Connacht
    Grade
    LEVEL 3 IRFU
    Join Date
    22 Sep 12
    Posts
    557
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    98

    Default Re: End of maul

    Ball has gone to ground and I can see it, red player who was part of the maul is between ball and the scrum half, hes not going to roll away so I whistle and award scrum blue.
    Courage is knowing what lies on the other side and still opening the door !

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •