Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 12 of 12

Thread: Confused about Law 22.8

      
  1. #11

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,805
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1769

    Default Re: Confused about Law 22.8

    Choice of 22m dropout, or scrum at mark

  2. #12
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Confused about Law 22.8

    Quote Originally Posted by bearandbu View Post
    Hmmm, maybe I wasn't clear in my original post. I'll offer a scenario. Blue kicks the ball in open play. Red player in the try zone attempts to field the ball which almost certainly would have settled in the try zone, but it bounces off Reds hands across the deadball line. So, it was the action of Red that caused the ball to go into deadball territory. Does that matter? What do you offer Red team? Dropout or scrum, or just dropout.
    Where does the scenario fit with Law 22.8?

    22.8 Ball kicked dead through in-goal 12
    If a team kicks the ball through their opponents’ in-goal into touch-in-goal or on or over the dead ball line, except by an unsuccessful kick at goal or attempted dropped goal, the defending team has two choices:

    •To have a drop-out, or
    •To have a scrum at the place where the ball was kicked and they throw in.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •