Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Player on ground in goal

      
  1. #1

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,514
    Thanks (Received)
    169
    Likes (Received)
    1941

    Default Player on ground in goal

    After a foot race and a funny bounce, a player ends on the ground, in the in goal, and the ball rolls toward him. Is he allowed to press down o it to score a try, or must he get to his feet first .

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    Simon Thomas's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Hampshire / Southern Federation
    Grade
    RFU Group Match Observer
    Join Date
    03 Dec 03
    Posts
    12,846
    Thanks (Received)
    37
    Likes (Received)
    148

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    That will be 11-1 now then Crossref ;-) and surprised you have not been there yourself as a player after all those try scoring exploits.
    Does the player even have to be actually in goal, could he be lying touch-in-goal or beyond the dead ball line ?

  3. #3
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    As I understand it there is no restriction on grounding.

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    18,514
    Thanks (Received)
    169
    Likes (Received)
    1941

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    I post because it seems to be one of those places where the general conventions we referee to are at odds with the laws.

    out in the middle of the pitch we expect a player to get to his feet before playing the ball, but in goal we'd allow the try, as Clancy did in the Eng Barbarians game today, but I don't think the Laws support the difference, really

  5. #5

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,706
    Thanks (Received)
    131
    Likes (Received)
    1649

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    And that applies to a defender as well.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  6. #6
    Banned

    Soc/Assoc
    n/a
    Grade
    < player
    Join Date
    20 Jan 12
    Posts
    6,000
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    251

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    After a foot race and a funny bounce, a player ends on the ground, in the in goal, and the ball rolls toward him. Is he allowed to press down on it to score a try, or must he get to his feet first .
    Try.

    See post #255 here
    http://www.rugbyrefs.com/showthread....ghlight=Ground

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,431
    Thanks (Received)
    23
    Likes (Received)
    234

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    But we do not tend to be so lenient on the defender.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    445

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I post because it seems to be one of those places where the general conventions we referee to are at odds with the laws.

    out in the middle of the pitch we expect a player to get to his feet before playing the ball, but in goal we'd allow the try, as Clancy did in the Eng Barbarians game today, but I don't think the Laws support the difference, really
    There is something in tackle law that specifically mentions players on the ground in in-goal being able to ground the ball however, I thought it was only after a tackle.

    The IRB answered a question posed by Andre Watson in July last year re the DBL being treated as touch-in-goal and determined that George North's try was a correct decision and he was not on his feet. Therefore we can assume (is that a dangerous thing to do?) that a player in in-goal, who is on the ground, can ground the ball either to score a try or a touch down or else the IRB would have said that George North needed to get to his feet before pressing down on the ball.


    Edit:
    Found it.

    15.6 Other players
    (a)After a tackle, all other players must be on their feet when they play the ball. Players are on their feet if no other part of their body is supported by the ground or players on the ground.
    Sanction: Penalty kick

    Exception: Ball goes into the in-goal. After a tackle near the goal line, if the ball has been released and has gone into the in-goal any player, including a player on the ground, may ground the ball


    Just thinking about it, this exception can only relate to a tackle where the BC is close to his own goal line and releases the ball and then ANY player (which would include the tackled player and the tackler unless this is another example of poor writing considering it is under the heading of Other Players) can ground the ball. If an attacker was the tackled player, the ball could only get to in-goal by way of a knock-on
    Last edited by The Fat; 01-06-15 at 10:06.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  9. #9
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    33
    Likes (Received)
    321

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    TF, 15.6 applies to a specific event. That doesn't mean that other events are excluded the same rights. Ball in goal, on the ground. Any downward pressure from hand, arm or torso grounds the ball. Location or circumstance of the player not relevant unless a violation of law has occurred (such as offside). Try to the attackers, touch down to the defenders.

    Very simple, the player is not taking possession of the ball or playing it in any other manner. Grounding is instantaneous and is ruled to occur first.

    If the ball is in the air when contact is made by the player ... well, that's another thread.
    Last edited by ChrisR; 01-06-15 at 22:06.

  10. #10

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 8 and Advisor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 11
    Posts
    1,077
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    178

    Default Re: Player on ground in goal

    Here's what I reckon. Whether or not a player on the ground can play the ball depends on how he got to there; if he's on the ground following a tackle, he cannot play it, if he's on the ground for any other reason, he can play it. The OP's scenario did not involve a tackle so the player was OK.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •