Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Clearance kick

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh
    Grade
    Level 15 - 11
    Join Date
    07 Aug 15
    Posts
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Clearance kick

    Hi all,

    I've got my first RU game coming up soon at a private school in Scotland so have been devouring the law book since doing my course at Murrayfield in June. I think I'll be okay but one thing I can't find is a kick to touch from ingoal. The law book is clear about kicking to touch from open play/the 22 area but this common tactic when under the cosh is not covered. So my question is:

    Is ingoal treated the same as 22, in which case it is a case of no gain in ground - opposition lineout on the 5m?

    My reffing background is doing RL for a few years till 2012; lots of games from the East Midlands down to the south coast but concentrating on the Home Counties. Different game but hopefully good experience regarding game management, working with players, thinking on your feet, coaching during a game (use of voice in RL is essential).

    Only stopped cos I moved to the extreme south west and didn't want to travel as far as Bristol for games. My main area is East Lothian but as I work in Alnwick does anyone know if the SRU qualification is okay for England as I might hope to join the Northumberland Society?

  2. #2

    Referees in New Zealand


    Soc/Assoc
    Bay of Plenty
    Grade
    Secondary School
    Join Date
    05 May 11
    Posts
    1,649
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Received)
    240

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    The in-goal area is considered inside the 22m. Provided the ball wasn't passed back from outside the 22m into the in-goal, kick out on the full from the in-goal will gain territory.
    "There is far too much talk about good ball and bad ball. In my opinion, good ball is when you have possession and bad ball is when the opposition have it." - Dick Jeeps

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Phil E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Staffordshire and Royal Navy
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    22 Jan 08
    Posts
    14,895
    Thanks (Received)
    160
    Likes (Received)
    1298
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    Quote Originally Posted by aidantaylor View Post
    [I]Is ingoal treated the same as 22,
    Yes

    in which case it is a case of no gain in ground - opposition lineout on the 5m?
    Other way round, Inside the 22 IS a gain in ground.

    does anyone know if the SRU qualification is okay for England as I might hope to join the Northumberland Society?
    Yes it is, the two societies will communicate to confirm your level and then the new society will give you a couple of supervised games to make sure you are at the right level, then off you go.

    Follow my Award Winning blog The Rugby Ref


  4. #4

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,445
    Thanks (Received)
    112
    Likes (Received)
    1324

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    ctrainor, why do you dislike the OP?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  5. #5

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,375
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    171

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    Corrected Dickie, browsing last night after a few beers!
    Ciaran Trainor

  6. #6

    Referees in Australia


    Soc/Assoc
    Brisbane Rugby League Referees Association
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    27 Jul 13
    Posts
    998
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    207

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    Quote Originally Posted by ctrainor View Post
    Corrected Dickie, browsing last night after a few beers!
    Living the good life, Ciaran

  7. #7

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    Quote Originally Posted by Phil E View Post
    ... Other way round, Inside the 22 IS a gain in ground.
    I think Aidan was thinking of a ball passed back into in-goal; as in ball taken back in.

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    I think Aidan was thinking of a ball passed back into in-goal; as in ball taken back in.
    Maybe Aidan needs to give us a specific scenario? Then I think we can set him on the right path without confusing him further.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  9. #9

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    In fairness, it is his first post on RR.com.

  10. #10

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    330

    Default Re: Clearance kick

    I think we may all have confused ourselves (and certainly the OP), starting with Damo:

    Quote Originally Posted by damo View Post
    The in-goal area is considered inside the 22m. Provided the ball wasn't passed back from outside the 22m into the in-goal, kick out on the full from the in-goal will gain territory.
    It would be an extraordinary back-pass to go from outside the 22m into in-goal.

    So my own scenario: defensive scrum 5m out. Ball is won by defensive team, scrum half passes to #10 positioned deep in-goal. Fly half catches and kicks for touch. Ball goes directly into touch just beyond the 22m line. How to restart?

    Answer: attacking lineout just outside the 22m line.
    Don't feed the pedant!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •