Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: tackler's rights

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default tackler's rights

    This happened in the US v Wallabies game yesterday. It resulted in a penalty which US kicked for 3 points.

    Gold tackler (I think #3) goes to ground in the tackle and ends up on wrong side of tackle. He releases ball carrier and gets to his feet. Provided a ruck has not yet formed he is entitled to pick up the ball.

    However, he doesn't do that. He starts playing at the ball with his foot in a non-dangerous fashion and when the ruck forms around him (remember he is now on wrong side of the ruck) continues to do.

    Is he OK to do that?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  2. #2

    Referees in Australia
    TigerCraig's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Sydney North & NSWRRA
    Grade
    Level 1 Ref/Level 2 AR
    Join Date
    19 May 08
    Posts
    1,262
    Thanks (Received)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    153

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    This happened in the US v Wallabies game yesterday. It resulted in a penalty which US kicked for 3 points.

    Gold tackler (I think #3) goes to ground in the tackle and ends up on wrong side of tackle. He releases ball carrier and gets to his feet. Provided a ruck has not yet formed he is entitled to pick up the ball.

    However, he doesn't do that. He starts playing at the ball with his foot in a non-dangerous fashion and when the ruck forms around him (remember he is now on wrong side of the ruck) continues to do.

    Is he OK to do that?
    I would have thought so, the Law says that once he gets to his feet he can "play the ball from any direction". "Play" is defined as touched by a player, nothing to say it has to be by hand. So long as no ruck has formed, and so long as he isnt standing there obstructing arriving opponents prior to playing the ball

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    Quote Originally Posted by TigerCraig View Post
    I would have thought so, the Law says that once he gets to his feet he can "play the ball from any direction". "Play" is defined as touched by a player, nothing to say it has to be by hand. So long as no ruck has formed, and so long as he isnt standing there obstructing arriving opponents prior to playing the ball
    What are his obligations once a ruck commences? Can he just stay there bound up in the mass of bodies?
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,202
    Thanks (Received)
    105
    Likes (Received)
    1435

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    This happened in the US v Wallabies game yesterday. It resulted in a penalty which US kicked for 3 points.

    Gold tackler (I think #3) goes to ground in the tackle and ends up on wrong side of tackle. He releases ball carrier and gets to his feet. Provided a ruck has not yet formed he is entitled to pick up the ball.

    However, he doesn't do that. He starts playing at the ball with his foot in a non-dangerous fashion and when the ruck forms around him (remember he is now on wrong side of the ruck) continues to do.

    Is he OK to do that?
    When the ruck "formed around him" was he bound into the ruck, that is, was someone bound to him?

    If so, I see no problem with what he did

    If not, if he is just standing on the opponents side, then he's offside.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    When the ruck "formed around him" was he bound into the ruck, that is, was someone bound to him?

    If so, I see no problem with what he did

    If not, if he is just standing on the opponents side, then he's offside.
    Hmmm, all very dynamic so worth another look. Once it pops up on youtube, I'll post it.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #6

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,202
    Thanks (Received)
    105
    Likes (Received)
    1435

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Hmmm, all very dynamic so worth another look. Once it pops up on youtube, I'll post it.

    There's a replay of the game tonight on SkySport4.

    Any idea when this happened? did they kick the 3 points?
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,298
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1276

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    There's a replay of the game tonight on SkySport4.

    Any idea when this happened? did they kick the 3 points?
    mid way through 1st half. Yes, they kicked it. It was their first score and their only 3 pointer for the game.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,202
    Thanks (Received)
    105
    Likes (Received)
    1435

    Default Re: tackler's rights

    OK, so I have had a look at it, and I think you are right, Gold 1 was definitely the tackler; grasped White 10, brought him to ground, went to ground himself at the same time then got to his fleet and played the ball as he was entitled to.

    The referee got it wrong. He said "1 Gold in from the side" which clearly shows that he though 1 Gold was an "other player" under Law 15.6. Even when the player questioned JP, about it, JP said "you only get those rights when you go to ground"
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •