Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    Watching the ire vs fra rwc2015 and early in NO PKs France for offside when in front of last person who played the ball. On first sighting I had no issue (and still don't really) so I don't have an issue with the decision NO made at what he saw but it did make me wonder at what point is the offside line created and maintained when a player touched the ball but does not hold it and the player that last touched it has moved. So is it where the ball is touched or the player (that does not have possession of the ball). Ie does the offside player need to behind the point of contact with the ball or behind the player (even though they don't have the ball) before they are put back onside and can play at the ball.
    Law says
    (a) Action by the player. When the offside player runs behind the team-mate who last kicked, touched or carried the ball, the player is put onside.

    In this case
    Picture 1 shows the point at where a fra player last touched the ball
    Attachment 3319
    Picture 2 shows the point where the offside player plays at the ball and the player that last touched it lying on his back (some metres further from where he last touched)
    Attachment 3320

    If you use the mown grass strip as the line of reference (hopefully you can see it) just behind where the offside player picks up the ball, it is pretty clear he picks up the ball some metres 'behind' where it was last touched (but still in front of the player that touched it).

    I know the law says be behind player, but is that what is intended when they don't have possession and when both the ball and player have moved?

    (God damn iPad always posts my photos upside down - frigged if I know why )
    Last edited by Phil E; 12-10-15 at 14:10.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    TheBFG's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    14 Apr 08
    Posts
    4,363
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    208

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    I know you're in Aus, but that's taking the pi$$

    Can't change them in Menace's post, but have managed to add them here. Mod

    pic1.jpg

    pic2.jpg
    Last edited by Phil E; 12-10-15 at 14:10.
    __________________________________________________ _______

    happy with this posting

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    Hoping a mod can fix the offending pi$$!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    TheBFG's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    14 Apr 08
    Posts
    4,363
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    208

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    currently trying to do a head stand on my desk!

    I remember this is the game, but didn't see a replay, I thought NO got it wrong at the time as I thought the FRA player lost the ball towards his own goal line, but because they were retreating it looked wrong

    Looking for a replay (up the right way!) now........
    __________________________________________________ _______

    happy with this posting

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBFG View Post
    currently trying to do a head stand on my desk!

    I remember this is the game, but didn't see a replay, I thought NO got it wrong at the time as I thought the FRA player lost the ball towards his own goal line, but because they were retreating it looked wrong

    Looking for a replay (up the right way!) now........
    Game Time was at ESOl!

    I mean 10:53!
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  6. #6

    Referees in England
    TheBFG's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    14 Apr 08
    Posts
    4,363
    Thanks (Received)
    21
    Likes (Received)
    208

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    just watched, again I don't think he loses it forwards at all

    Retiring FRA player gets hand in front of IRE player after kick and knocks it towards his own posts, but it goes down and bounces up, the FRA player then goes beyond the ball and a FRA player from behind plays it.
    __________________________________________________ _______

    happy with this posting

  7. #7

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,769
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBFG View Post
    currently trying to do a head stand on my desk!

    I remember this is the game, but didn't see a replay, I thought NO got it wrong at the time as I thought the FRA player lost the ball towards his own goal line, but because they were retreating it looked wrong

    Looking for a replay (up the right way!) now........
    I also saw it in real time, and I think NO got it right. Bastareaud was the offside player IIRC, and he and his colleague were retreating towards their own line - Bastareaud being behind his team mate (i.e. closer to the Ireland line), as befits a prop playing in the centre. Team-mate fumbles backwards, and B picks up. B was by definition on the Irish side of his team mate after the latter last played the ball, and so was offside. However, he played the ball BEHIND the point at which the ball was first played. The question is whether that puts him back onside.

    Relevant law is 11.1 and the definitions to law 11. The latter says:

    In general play a player is offside if the player is in front of a team-mate who is carrying the ball, or in front of a team-mate who last played the ball.


    So B was offside. He is liable to sanction under 11.1:

    (a) A player who is in an offside position is liable to sanction only if the player does one of three
    things:
    • Interferes with play or ...


    By picking up the ball, he interfered with play.

    11.1(b) Offside and interfering with play. A player who is offside must not take part in the game. This means the player must not play the ball or obstruct an opponent.


    But was he put back onside by moving behind where the offside line was created? Having been offside in general play, 11.2 and 11.3 deals with becoming onside again:

    11.2 BEING PUT ONSIDE BY THE ACTION OF A TEAM-MATE
    In general play, there are three ways by which an offside player can be put onside by actions of that player or of team mates:
    (a) Action by the player. When the offside player runs behind the team-mate who last kicked, touched or carried the ball, the player is put onside.
    So even though the ball was behind where it was first touched, the team mate was even further towards the FR goal line, and B had not reached him. He remained offside with regard to his own actions and those of his team mates. What of Ireland?

    Under 11.3, B would have been put onside if a Green player had touched the ball, kicked/passed or run 5m with the ball. None of these happened. So NO was spot on.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  8. #8

    Referees in Australia
    menace's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    ACTRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    20 Nov 09
    Posts
    3,533
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    481
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    Thanks Dixie...so to paraphrase 11.2 a, you're saying that it is at writ and should be interpreted as always going behind the player (the point of touching it) is moot.
    Tell em it's Law 23 and smile

  9. #9

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,769
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    328

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    Thanks Dixie...so to paraphrase 11.2 a, you're saying that it is at writ and should be interpreted as always going behind the player (the point of touching it) is moot.
    I suspect there may be some words missing from your post. However, you seem to be asking whether we should apply what the law says, or some other rule which might (or might not) be closer to what was intended. While I agree that you could easily make a case for B being put back onside by retreating behind the point at which the ball was touched, that is not the rule that WR has elected to put into its law book. We all have to struggle to make sense of some laws when they are badly written so that the meaning does not shine through. It seems to be a pointless exercise working hard to overturn a clear meaning when it exists.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,548
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Received)
    894

    Default Re: Ire vs fra - offside in general play when touched?

    However, he played the ball BEHIND the point at which the ball was first played. The question is whether that puts him back onside.


    If it doesn't then - using that latin phrase aboput being absurd - If France had knocked the ball back from 1 cm outside of Irelands' try line and the ball travelled all the way to within a cm of their own dead ball line, Had Basteraud been in the Irish in-goal he could now never actually play that ball (without giving away a 5m scrum maybe!)

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •