Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

      
  1. #11
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Cambridge and St Neots
    Grade
    I am a Fan
    Join Date
    08 Mar 11
    Posts
    1,332
    Thanks (Received)
    20
    Likes (Received)
    206

    Default Re: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

    Apologies for sounding like a broken record, but surely this should be in the LotG not in some memo in a locked cupboard behind a sign saying Beware of the Leopard.

    The definitions miss this case, they cover a player on the ground knocking the ball back and a player jumping and catching the ball.
    And that means this case is unclear.

    Personally without reading Line Ball Your Call, I would have reasoned that even if the ball crosses the line of touch, it is not "in touch" until it actually touches something. If the wind blows it back, play on. Also a player is not in touch until he touches the ground in touch. So if a player jumps from the field of play (not in touch) and deflects the ball (at that point still not "in touch") so it lands in the field of play (not in touch) I would play on.

    But this would not match other officials interpretation.

    But in the games I am involved, the girls have only just started to kick the ball, so it unlikely to be an issue.

  2. #12

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,109
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1652

    Default Re: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

    Exactly the scenario in the OP just happened in Aus v Arg. .
    Touch given

  3. #13

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,499
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1524

    Default Re: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Camquin View Post
    Apologies for sounding like a broken record, but surely this should be in the LotG not in some memo in a locked cupboard behind a sign saying Beware of the Leopard.
    Of course.

    The definitions miss this case, they cover a player on the ground knocking the ball back and a player jumping and catching the ball.
    And that means this case is unclear.
    Agreed.

    Personally without reading Line Ball Your Call, I would have reasoned that even if the ball crosses the line of touch, it is not "in touch" until it actually touches something. If the wind blows it back, play on. Also a player is not in touch until he touches the ground in touch. So if a player jumps from the field of play (not in touch) and deflects the ball (at that point still not "in touch") so it lands in the field of play (not in touch) I would play on.
    You are assuming that a player is not in touch until he lands in touch. I was officially told (years ago) that he is in touch when he crosses the plane.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  4. #14

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,201
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Exactly the scenario in the OP just happened in Aus v Arg. .
    Touch given
    Ball and player's body beyond the plane-of-touch.
    Correct call.
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  5. #15

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,109
    Thanks (Received)
    135
    Likes (Received)
    1652

    Default Re: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Ball and player's body beyond the plane-of-touch.
    Correct call.
    It's a sensible call, and I agree it's the way most people would call it now.
    It's the way I would call it


    but it can only be defintively "correct" if that's what the Laws say, and the Laws don't cover it.

    "Line Ball Your Call" covers it - p50 onwards - but that's an Aussie RFU document, isn't it, not a WR one, so not a definitive document. It has the same sort of status as the opinions from SARFU on SA Referees - influential but not definitive.

    http://www.arra.org.nz/cms/media/upl...June-20151.pdf

    BTW I think this is a great document.
    It would be improved by footnotes with precise Law reference for each scenario
    I think that giving unambiguous direction for scenarios the Law doesn't quite address is a good idea. And personally I'd follow it. Why not?
    Last edited by crossref; 29-10-15 at 14:10.

  6. #16

    Referees in England
    Wedgie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Kent
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    11 Oct 11
    Posts
    189
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    22

    Default Re: When is a player who is in the air ''in touch'' ?

    This is one if the law trials that is currently under investigation and would change the decision to be made in the OP to play on. One can only hope that if this does become law then it will be explicitly written into the law book.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •