Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: No 8 bind at U19's

      
  1. #21

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,667
    Thanks (Received)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    930

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    20.3 (f) Binding by all other players. All players in a scrum, other than front-row players, must bind on a lock’s body with at least one arm prior to the scrum engagement. [...][
    That seems to make the old-fashioned 3-2-3 formation illegal, since the flankers would be binding on the #8, not a lock. (Yes, I know the #8 used to be known as a "lock" - but not nowadays.)
    well, its not beyond the wit of man to get a full arm bind on a second row at "final row" flank position on a second row's body, but the general principal is understood. And woud be dififcult to maintain in a dynamic scrum.

    didds

  2. #22

    Referees in England
    Womble's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    24 Jul 12
    Posts
    1,277
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    I've never actually seen it on the pitch - -do you use it?
    Only on a 5m attacking scrum & only if the opposition have technically good mountain of a loose head. It enables us to drive straighter and helps sir make an easier call if we get close or over the line. Other than that no, in open field there are other ways to counter act that situation.
    It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog!

  3. #23

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,306
    Thanks (Received)
    110
    Likes (Received)
    1495

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    normally flankers bind at A and E
    I only ever played at flanker once and that's where I ended up!
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  4. #24

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,534
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1544

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    well, its not beyond the wit of man to get a full arm bind on a second row at "final row" flank position on a second row's body
    Really?
    Binding: Grasping firmly another player’s body between the shoulders and the hips with the whole arm in contact from hand to shoulder.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  5. #25
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    2,170
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    I only ever played at flanker once and that's where I ended up!
    That's where you're supposed to put the 10!

  6. #26

    Referees in England
    Womble's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    24 Jul 12
    Posts
    1,277
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Really?
    Binding: Grasping firmly another player’s body between the shoulders and the hips with the whole arm in contact from hand to shoulder.
    We have discussed this before, does the number 8 comply with the law as it stands?
    It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog!

  7. #27

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,534
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1544

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by Womble View Post
    We have discussed this before, does the number 8 comply with the law as it stands?
    No he doesn't, but we really don't have much choice. With flankers there is a choice, but all that really does is point out the unsatisfactory state of the law.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

  8. #28

    Referees in England
    Womble's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Somerset
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    24 Jul 12
    Posts
    1,277
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Received)
    43

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    No he doesn't, but we really don't have much choice. With flankers there is a choice, but all that really does is point out the unsatisfactory state of the law.
    Agreed, but if we allow the 8 to bind to the locks in that way then we should let 6 & 7 do the same just to be consistant in how we apply the law for the 8!
    It's not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog!

  9. #29

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,667
    Thanks (Received)
    63
    Likes (Received)
    930

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by OB.. View Post
    Really?
    Binding: Grasping firmly another player’s body between the shoulders and the hips with the whole arm in contact from hand to shoulder.
    yeah - I don;t see it as THAT difficuilt.

    #8 head between two locks, bind around lower hips. Flank shoulder against outside of 2nd row's bum, whole arm bound on 2nd row's body parallel to 2nd row's spine.

    Its no less a bind than a typical #8 "enforced" bind that never gets anywhere near hips and shoulders, but generally around the hips on the shorts,.

    But it hardly ever happens, and the only time I could realistically see it being used is the description above of a stacked back row... and Ive never actually see that used in 40 years of rugby involvement. So its purely academic.

    didds

  10. #30

    Advises in England
    OB..'s Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Glos & District
    Grade
    Adviser (grass roots)
    Join Date
    07 Oct 04
    Posts
    22,534
    Thanks (Received)
    108
    Likes (Received)
    1544

    Default Re: No 8 bind at U19's

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    So its purely academic.

    didds
    Agreed.
    He trudg’d along unknowing what he sought,
    And whistled as he went, for want of thought.
    The Referee by John Dryden

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •