Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 40

Thread: Offside ingoal

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member Lex Hipkins's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Canterbury
    Grade
    I am a Coach
    Join Date
    04 Dec 08
    Posts
    63
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Default Offside ingoal

    Did anybody catch this during the Reds/Force game?

    Ignoring the misquoted law on the rugby onslaught web site (should be 11 ... Not 10), was this a muck up by the TMO. The ref was aware but was told to ignore offside by the TMO. Rather than scrum white, shouldn't it have been penalty white?

    http://www.rugbyonslaught.com/2016/0...ight-have.html

  2. #2

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,705
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    933

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    I must be missing something. I can;t see any offside by any red player whatsoever. There may be a marginal white offside as two attackers are floundering on the4floor, depending on who actually touched it when they are both initially flopping around but its pretty uncertain if the subseqent attempt to score by one of them is a player in an offside position.

    That aside, general offisde being in front of your own playter that last played the ball does exist in goal of course.

    didds

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,449
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1328

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    I must be missing something. I can;t see any offside by any red player whatsoever. There may be a marginal white offside as two attackers are floundering on the4floor, depending on who actually touched it when they are both initially flopping around but its pretty uncertain if the subseqent attempt to score by one of them is a player in an offside position.
    Red 13 appears to maybe knock it forward then Red 5 comes in from FoP to ground the ball. I think Gardner was aware of this but not sure what TMO was referring to. I think he (TMO) has concluded by then that Red 13 had grounded the ball.

    If Red 13 had knocked it forward and if Red 5 had played the ball from an offside position then a penalty try was on the cards.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    --
    Grade
    Grassroots
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    17,778
    Thanks (Received)
    139
    Likes (Received)
    1765

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    Red player knocks backwards, then knocks forward in goal, and offside red player touches it down.
    PK to white, and has to be a YC doesn't it? Perhaps not a PT as the red player who knocked it on might have got there before white anyway

    (Ian will be forced by his oen logic to ignore the offside and award the scrum that he maintains is the only possible outcome of a knock on in goal followed by a touchdown)

  5. #5

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,449
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1328

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    (Ian will be forced by his oen logic to ignore the offside and award the scrum that he maintains is the only possible outcome of a knock on in goal followed by a touchdown)
    index.jpg

    Really? You wanna go there?
    Last edited by Dickie E; 08-03-16 at 02:03.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  6. #6

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    Isn't Aiub (no idea if that is spelt right) the TMO who was criticised during the RWC for some "interesting" decisions?
    Last edited by Taff; 08-03-16 at 02:03.

  7. #7

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    12,449
    Thanks (Received)
    113
    Likes (Received)
    1328

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    George Ayoub.
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  8. #8

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,373
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    159

    Default

    The way I saw it is that Red #12 loses the ball forward,
    then white #9 knocks on and then there appears to be a knock-on by red #13.
    Red #5 is clearly off-side - in front of the last red player to have played the ball - but there is no advantage accrued because the 2nd knock-on should bring play back for the red #12 loss forward.
    So scrum 5m attacking ball.

    However, if the review deems that neither white 9 nor red 13 touched the ball then we start at red #5 being offside and so taking him out of the picture the try would have been scored by white #13 So, then the correct decision IMO should be PT to white and a YC to Red #5
    Last edited by beckett50; 08-03-16 at 09:03.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  9. #9

    Referees in Switzerland
    FlipFlop's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Swiss Rugby Federation
    Grade
    Swiss Federation
    Join Date
    13 Jun 06
    Posts
    3,227
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    208

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    Amazing what some people see....

    • Red #12 loses the ball BACKWARDS. He is the defender.
    • White #9. Does he knock on, or does he ground it, or is it "stripped". I think that the actions of Red #13 make it clear that the real option here is grounded or stripped. Personally I think he grounds it for the try, but failing that you have to go with....
    • Red #13 knocks it backwards, and then forwards.
    • Red #5 is offside and plays the ball (PK).
    • Red #13 is closer than White #13, so likely to have played the ball before White #13, so try is not probable. So no PT.


    So for me the outcome is Try (White #9 scores), but if you rule that he doesn't score, then PK to White for Red #5 offside.

  10. #10

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,705
    Thanks (Received)
    64
    Likes (Received)
    933

    Default Re: Offside ingoal

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    Red 13 appears to maybe knock it forward then Red 5 comes in from FoP to ground the ball. I think Gardner was aware of this but not sure what TMO was referring to. I think he (TMO) has concluded by then that Red 13 had grounded the ball.

    If Red 13 had knocked it forward and if Red 5 had played the ball from an offside position then a penalty try was on the cards.
    Ah gotcha... I didn;t even see that as a 13 knock on... I thought it had gone backwards/sideways. See what you mean now.

    didds

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •