Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 46

Thread: Lineout over after uncontested maul

      
  1. #1
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,612
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    363

    Default Lineout over after uncontested maul

    A question I was asked on Saturday got me thinking: I had the almost ubiquitous question about "what if we decide not to join a maul at a lineout?", and realised I'm not 100% sure when the lineout is over in this case.

    The situation is this: jumper comes down with the ball and immediately hands it back to a team mate coming round in anticipation of a maul who is bound onto him. The not-a-maul doesn't move forward, so no immediate infringement.

    Has the lineout ended then? My feeling it's covered under "hands the ball to a peeling player" so has ended, but would be interested to hear anyone else's thoughts.

  2. #2
    Rugby Club Member Rich_NL's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    NRB
    Grade
    IRB level 1
    Join Date
    13 Apr 15
    Posts
    668
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Received)
    143

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    I don't think it's ended, but it's set up to turn into a penalty for obstruction as soon as the opposition go for the ball carrier.

  3. #3

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,655
    Thanks (Received)
    28
    Likes (Received)
    271

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    You may find THIS thread useful.

    As far as I can see, there are 3 options:

    1. Opponents step out of the LO = PK
    2. Ball won and kept at the front = Play On
    3. Ball won and handed to the back player = Shout "Use it" and if they don't = scrum for accidental offside.

  4. #4
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,612
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    363

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Taff View Post
    You may find THIS thread useful.As far as I can see, there are 3 options:
    1. Opponents step out of the LO = PK
    2. Ball won and kept at the front = Play On
    3. Ball won and handed to the back player = Shout "Use it" and if they don't = scrum for accidental offside.
    Thanks - I was just thinking about the last case and what would happen if the opposition come around before the ball has been used (maybe the ref is slow to shout "use it"). The clarification doesn't make it clear whether the lineout is over at this point.

    I like Rich's point - if the ball has been shifted back the ball carrier has blockers (which would be treated the same as if the non-maul moved forwards, I'd guess) so they'd get a scrum without having to go round the side..

  5. #5

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,669
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1360

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    I think the line out has ended, hasn't it

    (b) Lineout ends. The lineout ends when the ball or a player carrying it leaves the lineout.1234
    This includes the following:
    When the ball is thrown, knocked or kicked out of the lineout, the lineout ends.
    When the ball or a player carrying the ball moves into the area between the 5-metre line and the touchline, the lineout ends.
    When a lineout player hands the ball to a player who is peeling off, the lineout ends.
    When the ball is thrown beyond the 15-metre line, or when a player takes or puts it beyond that line, the lineout ends.
    When a ruck or maul develops in a lineout, and all the feet of all the players in the ruck or maul move beyond the line of touch, the lineout ends.
    When the ball becomes unplayable in a lineout, the lineout ends. Play restarts with a scrum.
    so a player can run round and get the ball.

  6. #6
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,612
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    363

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    That was my initial reaction, but I'm not sure the bound team mate counts as peeling. It doesn't look like conventional peeling and he's not doing it to catch the ball knocked or passed back, but maybe I'm getting hung up on wordings (again).

  7. #7

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,669
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1360

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    hmmm....

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    2,170
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    That was my initial reaction, but I'm not sure the bound team mate counts as peeling. It doesn't look like conventional peeling and he's not doing it to catch the ball knocked or passed back, but maybe I'm getting hung up on wordings (again).
    The specific situations are merely specific cases of the general "the ball leaves the lineout" (Law 19.9(b):

    Lineout ends. The lineout ends when the ball or a player carrying it leaves the lineout.

    This includes the following:


    If the ball has been passed back by the lineout player to another player, peeling or not, the ball has surely left the lineout

  9. #9

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,773
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    If a maul has not formed then maul laws do not apply -that is why refs are asked to call 'use it' as the players in front of the ball carrier are obstructing. If there is no maul then 'non-maulers' can tackle the ball carrier at the rear of the 'non-maul'.
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,612
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    363

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Thanks all! It sounds like there's (nearly) a consensus that players can come round and I was worrying over nothing!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •