Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Lineout over after uncontested maul

      
  1. #11

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,009
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    768

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by RobLev View Post
    The specific situations are merely specific cases of the general "the ball leaves the lineout" (Law 19.9(b):

    Lineout ends. The lineout ends when the ball or a player carrying it leaves the lineout.

    This includes the following:


    If the ball has been passed back by the lineout player to another player, peeling or not, the ball has surely left the lineout
    In which case every driving maul from a lineout must be an immediate OK for the oppo backs to come up form theior 10m offside line. Which is clearly not what is refereed, so handing back must mean the bvall actually moves through space to unconnected/unbound players.


    didds

  2. #12

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,009
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    768

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    Thanks all! It sounds like there's (nearly) a consensus that players can come round and I was worrying over nothing!
    I also thought there was a consensus that players can't come around until the non-maul had passed the line of touch?

    didds

  3. #13
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,116
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    In which case every driving maul from a lineout must be an immediate OK for the oppo backs to come up form theior 10m offside line. Which is clearly not what is refereed, so handing back must mean the bvall actually moves through space to unconnected/unbound players.


    didds
    The issue is sequence of events.

    If the ball is handed back and no maul forms then line-out is over.

    If ball is handed back then ops join and a maul forms it gets to be tricky timing for the referee. Is it LO law or maul law?

    If the maul forms then the ball goes back then LO law prevails.

  4. #14

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,655
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1357

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    In which case every driving maul from a lineout must be an immediate OK for the oppo backs to come up form theior 10m offside line. Which is clearly not what is refereed, so handing back must mean the bvall actually moves through space to unconnected/unbound players.


    didds
    A maul forming is dealt with the Laws as a special case


    (b) Lineout ends. The lineout ends when the ball or a player carrying it leaves the lineout.1234
    This includes the following:
    When the ball is thrown, knocked or kicked out of the lineout, the lineout ends.
    When the ball or a player carrying the ball moves into the area between the 5-metre line and the touchline, the lineout ends.
    When a lineout player hands the ball to a player who is peeling off, the lineout ends.
    When the ball is thrown beyond the 15-metre line, or when a player takes or puts it beyond that line, the lineout ends.
    When a ruck or maul develops in a lineout, and all the feet of all the players in the ruck or maul move beyond the line of touch, the lineout ends.
    When the ball becomes unplayable in a lineout, the lineout ends. Play restarts with a scrum.


    In the situation in the OP, if the line out is NOT over then basically the situation is frozen for a second or so, until the USE IT command is obeyed .

    The team not in poession chave just two choices
    - contest directly, which will lead the referee to either declare a maul, or perhaps gain a scrum for accidental offside
    - wait for the team in poessession to USE IT as commanded.
    Last edited by crossref; 15-03-16 at 19:03.

  5. #15
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    2,170
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    In which case every driving maul from a lineout must be an immediate OK for the oppo backs to come up form theior 10m offside line. Which is clearly not what is refereed, so handing back must mean the bvall actually moves through space to unconnected/unbound players.


    didds
    Crossref has quoted the Law; which means that if the ball is handed back before the maul forms (ie before the defending side engages), then the lineout ends immediately; if however a maul forms and the ball is then handed back, the lineout continues (and relevant offside lines remain in place) until the maul carrying the ball moves off the LoT.

    The OP expressly said that a maul had not formed.

  6. #16

    Referees in Ireland
    Shelflife's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Connacht
    Grade
    LEVEL 3 IRFU
    Join Date
    22 Sep 12
    Posts
    526
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    88

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    What happens if the defending team dont engage (no maul formed ) and the ball is kept at the front ?

    You could in theory have a stand off until one team cracks !
    Courage is knowing what lies on the other side and still opening the door !

  7. #17

    Referees in England
    ianh5979's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    North Yorkshire
    Grade
    9
    Join Date
    05 Jul 08
    Posts
    416
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    17

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelflife View Post
    What happens if the defending team dont engage (no maul formed ) and the ball is kept at the front ?

    You could in theory have a stand off until one team cracks !
    If the ball is at the front they are entitled to move forward in my opinion. There is no obstruction as the player with the ball is available to be tackled

  8. #18
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,610
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    360

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by ianh5979 View Post
    If the ball is at the front they are entitled to move forward in my opinion. There is no obstruction as the player with the ball is available to be tackled
    Not just your opinion - I think someone quoted the clarification earlier that explicitly says this.

    The first opposition player can go in to sack the ball carrier in the stand off case. I'd expect this to be the most likely outcome.

  9. #19

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,009
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    768

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by ianh5979 View Post
    If the ball is at the front they are entitled to move forward in my opinion. There is no obstruction as the player with the ball is available to be tackled
    Shelflife's point is what happens if they don;t move at all.

    Then there's a mexican standoff with the ball at the font but not being moved forward, and the defenders watching equally doing nothing.

    (Unlikely I know :-)

    didds

  10. #20
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,610
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    360

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Shelflife's point is what happens if they don;t move at all.Then there's a mexican standoff with the ball at the font but not being moved forward, and the defenders watching equally doing nothing.(Unlikely I know :-)didds
    Who gets pinged for time wasting?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •