Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Lineout over after uncontested maul

      
  1. #21
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    2,170
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by DocY View Post
    Who gets pinged for time wasting?
    The team with the ball.

  2. #22

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,187
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1089

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    Shelflife's point is what happens if they don;t move at all.

    Then there's a mexican standoff with the ball at the font but not being moved forward, and the defenders watching equally doing nothing.

    (Unlikely I know :-)

    didds
    it does sometimes happen at age group levels, after some unusual event normally, when the kids are expecting a whistle to go, and just stop playing

  3. #23

    Referees in Ireland
    Shelflife's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Connacht
    Grade
    LEVEL 3 IRFU
    Join Date
    22 Sep 12
    Posts
    507
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    83

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by RobLev View Post
    The team with the ball.
    Why ?

    Its open play,theres nothing to stop the opposition from tackling the ball carrier.

    You could have a bizarre situation where the attacking team coach has drilled it into his team not to send it to the back until they engage and to create a maul, whereas the defending coach has drilled it into his team not to engage and create a maul,
    Courage is knowing what lies on the other side and still opening the door !

  4. #24

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,187
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1089

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelflife View Post
    Why ?

    Its open play,theres nothing to stop the opposition from tackling the ball carrier.

    You could have a bizarre situation where the attacking team coach has drilled it into his team not to send it to the back until they engage and to create a maul, whereas the defending coach has drilled it into his team not to engage and create a maul,
    as a referee : smile and wait and see what happens. it couldn't last for long...

  5. #25

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 8 and Advisor
    Join Date
    27 Jan 11
    Posts
    1,046
    Thanks (Received)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    152

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Hang on, is there a consensus that handing the ball back to another bound player ends the lineout? It wouldn't signal the end if the lineout was contested (as an example we would hold the backs lines back at their 10 metre line).

  6. #26

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    13,187
    Thanks (Received)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    1089

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackberry View Post
    Hang on, is there a consensus that handing the ball back to another bound player ends the lineout? It wouldn't signal the end if the lineout was contested (as an example we would hold the backs lines back at their 10 metre line).
    if there is a maul -- then lineout isn't ended until maul moves beyond LoT

    but if there is no maul .... then seems to me lineout is over

  7. #27
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    17 Oct 11
    Posts
    2,170
    Thanks (Received)
    17
    Likes (Received)
    227

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelflife View Post
    Why ?
    Because they've got the ball. They're the only ones that can do anything with the ball.

    Its open play,theres nothing to stop the opposition from tackling the ball carrier.

    You could have a bizarre situation where the attacking team coach has drilled it into his team not to send it to the back until they engage and to create a maul, whereas the defending coach has drilled it into his team not to engage and create a maul,
    You could; but if it's a choice as to whom to penalise for time-wasting - penalise the team with the ball who are doing nothing with it. See it as an incentive to positive rugby...

  8. #28
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    2,792
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    224

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    This is not wasting time. If neither team wants to break the stalemate then whistle and restart with a scrum to the team in possession.

    If you gave a warning the "we're going to a scrum in 5 seconds" that may break the stalemate.

    But this isn't a penalty situation as neither team is offending.

  9. #29

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    South Yorkshire
    Grade
    National Panel
    Join Date
    08 Aug 05
    Posts
    1,514
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    72

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelflife View Post
    What happens if the defending team dont engage (no maul formed ) and the ball is kept at the front ?

    You could in theory have a stand off until one team cracks !
    We get that quite a lot in Championship. Lasts a few seconds but seems like years!

  10. #30

    Referees in America


    Soc/Assoc
    RRSNY
    Grade
    Level 1
    Join Date
    06 Mar 12
    Posts
    94
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Default Re: Lineout over after uncontested maul

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    This is not wasting time. If neither team wants to break the stalemate then whistle and restart with a scrum to the team in possession.

    If you gave a warning the "we're going to a scrum in 5 seconds" that may break the stalemate.

    But this isn't a penalty situation as neither team is offending.
    I wouldn't first look to call time wasting but if it came down to it because it's the only shoe that fit in the situation then why not. Couldn't it be argued as time wasting as much as if the ball carrier in open play breaks the defensive line, out runs the defenders who then give up on the chase, and the ball carrier just stands idle in the in goal instead of grounding the ball?

    I like the ideology that the team in possession of the ball is first responsible to play the ball.
    Last edited by jdeagro; 27-09-16 at 04:09.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •