Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Drop out or scrum 5 ?

      
  1. #1

    ELRA/Club Referee


    Soc/Assoc
    rotherham rugby club
    Grade
    school ref
    Join Date
    29 Aug 09
    Posts
    77
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Default Drop out or scrum 5 ?

    Attacker kicks the ball which unintentionally ricochets off a defender ,for example a forward still in the scrum . Ball travels into In goal and is touched down .Is it still a Scrum 5 , even though defender didn't intentionally send ball into his in goal ?

  2. #2

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    991
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    181

    Default Re: Drop out or scrum 5 ?

    Good question. My immediate response is "Yes", but it is difficult to quote a specific Law. Under 22.7(e) they are by convention deemed to have "put the ball into their own in-goal" - especially if it is a 'proper' ricochet. I was going to draw a similarity to a kick that touches the opposition - it puts all the kicker's team on-side. But that is an 'intentional' touch (11.3(c)), so no support for this example.

    We have to draw a line somewhere on the continuum from a graze, through a ricochet, to an intentional fingertip. By convention any touch is counted - as it may well have altered the course of the ball, even by a smidgen (not defined).
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  3. #3

    Referees in England
    Dixie's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired from Berkshire
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    26 Oct 06
    Posts
    12,770
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    330

    Default Re: Drop out or scrum 5 ?

    There has been a very conscious effort over several years to standardise the treatment of lines, and balls crossing the line. So the same rule that applies to the touchline in terms of player astride the line touching the ball in play also applies to the 22, the goal line and the DBL.

    With that in mind, it seems reasonable to ask how we would treat the throw-in if the ball had gone into touch instead of in-goal. The answer is that the unintentional touch/graze/ricochet would be considered material and would affect the restart. I think the same applies here. 5m scrum rather than 22m dropout.
    Don't feed the pedant!

  4. #4

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,915
    Thanks (Received)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    338

    Default Re: Drop out or scrum 5 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by chbg View Post
    ... We have to draw a line somewhere on the continuum from a graze, through a ricochet, to an intentional fingertip. By convention any touch is counted - as it may well have altered the course of the ball, even by a smidgen (not defined).
    The definitions say that "the ball is played when it is touched by a player". It doesn't say anything about intentional or not.

  5. #5

    Referees in Scotland
    Pinky's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Edinburgh Rugby Referees Society
    Grade
    8
    Join Date
    09 Apr 10
    Posts
    1,457
    Thanks (Received)
    19
    Likes (Received)
    156

    Default Re: Drop out or scrum 5 ?

    I'd say good kick by the attacker and award the scrum 5

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •