Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Penalty - back 10m

      
  1. #1
    Moderator Attention - New Usergroup Required

    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    5
    Join Date
    22 Dec 15
    Posts
    223
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    81

    Default Penalty - back 10m

    Asked this by a coach:

    Blue awarded a penalty. Blue 9 takes a quick tap. Red 9 has anticipated the penalty and has retreated 10m. He then runs forward and legally tackles blue 9 - say about 5m forward from the penalty mark. Other red players, who have never retreated the full 10m, but who have retreated behind the red 9 as he ran forward to make the tackle (say they got to about 6-7m from the mark) are:

    a) still offside - they must go back 10m before coming back to the tackle
    b) onside because their onside 9 has run in front of them

    I am pretty sure the answer is (b) courtesy of 21.7(c) but the coach I was speaking to told me he was given a different answer by the referee and his assessor. Any thoughts?

  2. #2
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,183
    Thanks (Received)
    30
    Likes (Received)
    305

    Default Re: Penalty - back 10m

    b) is correct.

  3. #3
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    West Yorkshire
    Grade
    Ref Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    16 May 16
    Posts
    60
    Thanks (Received)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    14

    Default Re: Penalty - back 10m

    I agree b) is correct, on the assumption that the players who had not retreated the full 10m had adequately satisfied 21.7(b) and kept running to try to get themselves onside.

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    chbg's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    D&WRURS, HRURS & ARURS
    Grade
    Level 8
    Join Date
    15 May 09
    Posts
    931
    Thanks (Received)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    173

    Default Re: Penalty - back 10m

    The situation absolutely fulfils 21.7(c) (my highlight):

    Kick taken quickly. If the penalty kick is taken so quickly that opponents have no opportunity to retire, they will not be penalised for this. However, they must continue to retire as described in 21.7(b) above or until a team-mate who was 10 metres from the mark has run in front of them, before they take part in the game.


    The other referee and assessor were wrong (as reported second-hand, of course).
    Be reasonable - do it my way.

  5. #5
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Penalty - back 10m

    From the description B is correct (with the caveats expressed above).

    Perhaps in the Scenario described in the OP the other ref and advisor took it to be that the second player had bnot attempted to retire.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •