Page 9 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789
Results 81 to 84 of 84

Thread: Confused about these 2 scrum laws. Help please !

      
  1. #81

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,314
    Thanks (Received)
    111
    Likes (Received)
    1505

    Default Re: Confused about these 2 scrum laws. Help please !

    Quote Originally Posted by menace View Post
    I dont mind the concept. And hard to criticise it until you try it - but my only reservation (and it may be baseless) is rhat it's just another thing we'd have to look out for andif our focus is on the strike deep inside a scrum then your focus is taken away from other elements of things that can, will, and go wrong in a scrum... things like the FR shoulders/back and binds...then also what the backline and SHs are doing. We have a lot to look at and take in now adding another one to make a judgment on may be bringing in a new monkey for the ref.
    As Pegleg says, you are supposed to look for a straight feed anyway, so the only way I think you could not see if the opposition hooker has struck is if you have "tunnel vision" (no pun intended).
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  2. #82

    Referees in Australia
    The Fat's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    FNCRRA
    Grade
    L1 Ref & L2 AR
    Join Date
    15 Jul 10
    Posts
    4,204
    Thanks (Received)
    51
    Likes (Received)
    444

    Default Re: Confused about these 2 scrum laws. Help please !

    Don't forget that this is already part of 20.2


    (c) Hooker in a position to hook. Until the ball is thrown in, the hooker must be in a position to hook the ball. The hookers must have both feet on the ground, with their weight firmly on at least one foot. A hooker’s foremost foot must not be in front of the foremost foot of that team’s props.
    Sanction: Free Kick


    So technically, the hooker from the non-feeding side who is the 8th person in the 8 v 7 shove is not complying with the Laws. Not sure we will ever see that FK awarded
    When you are dead, you don't know that you are dead. It is difficult only for the others.
    It's the same when you are stupid.

  3. #83

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    13,314
    Thanks (Received)
    111
    Likes (Received)
    1505

    Default Re: Confused about these 2 scrum laws. Help please !

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Don't forget that this is already part of 20.2


    (c) Hooker in a position to hook. Until the ball is thrown in, the hooker must be in a position to hook the ball. The hookers must have both feet on the ground, with their weight firmly on at least one foot. A hooker’s foremost foot must not be in front of the foremost foot of that team’s props.
    Sanction: Free Kick


    So technically, the hooker from the non-feeding side who is the 8th person in the 8 v 7 shove is not complying with the Laws. Not sure we will ever see that FK awarded

    1. Would you?

    2. Just because he has his feet in a position to hook, doesn't mean he is going to.

    I would still back the non-feeding hooker to get his feet back for the push before feeding hooker (who chooses to strike) does.
    Last edited by Ian_Cook; 27-12-16 at 09:12.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  4. #84
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Level 3
    Join Date
    03 Sep 14
    Posts
    3,330
    Thanks (Received)
    29
    Likes (Received)
    507

    Default Re: Confused about these 2 scrum laws. Help please !

    Quote Originally Posted by The Fat View Post
    Don't forget that this is already part of 20.2


    (c) Hooker in a position to hook. Until the ball is thrown in, the hooker must be in a position to hook the ball. The hookers must have both feet on the ground, with their weight firmly on at least one foot. A hooker’s foremost foot must not be in front of the foremost foot of that team’s props.
    Sanction: Free Kick


    So technically, the hooker from the non-feeding side who is the 8th person in the 8 v 7 shove is not complying with the Laws. Not sure we will ever see that FK awarded
    It is not that a hooker can't hook if his feet are back. It is very (very) difficut to do so, true But you can't say he is not in a position to hook.

    However, as Ian points out it is not "being is a position to do so" rather it is "whether or not you do so" that is the issue. If BOTH hookers must "hook" - that is, take one foot of the ground - we have 7½ V 7½ not 7 v 8 and thus balance.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •