Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 59

Thread: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

      
  1. #1

    Referees in Wales
    Taff's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Llanelli District
    Grade
    WRU Level 2
    Join Date
    23 Aug 09
    Posts
    6,425
    Thanks (Received)
    25
    Likes (Received)
    219

    Default Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Watching the Dragons v Glasgow Warriors game last weekend, and can't help wondering if we've seen the start of a new tactic.

    At a LO, the Dragons obviously didn't want to create a maul, because as soon as the Warriors won the ball, they would all stay in line and step back from the BC. Eg if the BC advanced 1m, all the Dragons pulled back 1m in a clearly rehearsed move.

    I think they got away with it on the night (clearly no maul was created) but isn't that a PK offence for leaving the LO?
    Last edited by Taff; 05-10-16 at 00:10.

  2. #2

    Referees in New Zealand
    Ian_Cook's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Retired player and referee
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    12 Jul 05
    Posts
    12,746
    Thanks (Received)
    91
    Likes (Received)
    1223

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    I don't see a problem. There isn't anything in the Law that forces a team to co-operate in forming a maul if they don't want to

    If the Warriors hand the ball back to a player at the back of the group trying to form a maul, then the ball has left the lineout, so lineout over and the Dragons can go anywhere they like, even run around and tackle the ball carrier.


    If the Warriors take the ball down to the front of the group then the Dragons cannot leave until The Warriors advance the ball past the LoT with the ball at the front. If they do, the ball has left the lineout. In that case, if the Dragons keep backing away, all the Warriors have to do is keep moving forwards.
    "Never underestimate the power of the Internet to lend unwarranted credibility to the colossally misinformed"
    - Jay "Utah" Windley

  3. #3

    Referees in Australia
    Dickie E's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    VRRA
    Grade
    Level 2
    Join Date
    19 Jan 07
    Posts
    11,293
    Thanks (Received)
    75
    Likes (Received)
    932

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian_Cook View Post
    If the Warriors hand the ball back to a player at the back of the group trying to form a maul,
    as long as it is not a long arm ... whatever that is
    I, for one, like Roman numerals

  4. #4

    Referees in England
    beckett50's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    East Midlands
    Grade
    Level 6
    Join Date
    31 Jan 04
    Posts
    2,080
    Thanks (Received)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    102

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Not new at all. SH teams been doing this for a while.

    Just be careful that the defending team don't leave the lineout before it is over.
    --------------------

    https://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=691560798


    "Listen, or your tongue will make you deaf" Native American Proverb

    Vanillaisforicecream

  5. #5

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,460
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    680

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dickie E View Post
    as long as it is not a long arm ... whatever that is
    AIUI its when the BC hands the ball "over the back" of a bound on player to another player

    eg ABC - A has the ball and hands it to C


    didds

  6. #6

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,460
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    680

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    ... and if the ball stays at the fornt the BC can be _tackled_ still.

    If the ball is at the back, a defender then connecting/binding to the front of the "non maul" creates a accidental obstruction (by convention) - IIRC refs usally then call AIOLI to the ball holding team

    didds

  7. #7
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Tenth
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,411
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    298

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Far from being a new tactic, I'm asked about it before 9 out of 10 games!

    Things to look for: the team not in possession cannot leave the lineout until it's over (BC crosses the LoT or transfers the ball)
    The team in possession cannot transfer the ball back. If they do and either don't use it immediately (the ref should tell them) or advance, it's an accidental offside.
    Once the LO is over, it's open play, not a maul, even if it looks a bit weird.

  8. #8
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Tenth
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,411
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    298

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    IIRC refs usally then call AIOLI to the ball holding team
    Only in France, where it's not limited to this situation!

  9. #9

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    8,460
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Received)
    680

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    clearly my understanding is incorrect.

    so if the ball is passed back, and then a defender engages at the font, what is the outcome? Immediate scum to defenders for obstruction?

    didds

  10. #10
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Tenth
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,411
    Thanks (Received)
    13
    Likes (Received)
    298

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by didds View Post
    clearly my understanding is incorrect.

    so if the ball is passed back, and then a defender engages at the font, what is the outcome? Immediate scum to defenders for obstruction?

    didds
    Yes, if the ball is still in the not-a-maul. In practice, it's almost always a scrum as soon as it's been transferred. The team not in possession will either be obstructed by the player at the front, or they'll flood around and stop the ball coming out (or both).

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •