Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

      
  1. #51

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,011
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    770

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    I do appreciate its a conundrum... cos if its something that is a real clanger but you ignore the "help", you potentially have 30 players and two benches plus every watcher all thinking "WTF!"

    didds

  2. #52
    Player or Coach ChrisR's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    None
    Grade
    Select Grade
    Join Date
    14 Jul 10
    Posts
    3,116
    Thanks (Received)
    27
    Likes (Received)
    296

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    It's only a conundrum if the player points out your error in an inappropriate manner. If you got it wrong and the player quietly says "Excuse me, Sir, shouldn't that be blah, blah, blah ..." then you are demonstrating your insecurity if you ignore him.

  3. #53

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,658
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1357

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    I think sometimes you just have to change your mind. If you know you are wrong, and let's face it everyone knows you know you are wrong - I don't see that it makes it any better to keep ploughing on.

    The example we have used before is the time where you award a try, and then realise that it was scored on the 5m line. It would be pretty senseless to persist with the try award. Better to change your mind (and prepare yourself for co-winner of the dick-of-the-day award later in the afternoon!)
    Last edited by crossref; 07-10-16 at 10:10.

  4. #54
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,610
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    361

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisR View Post
    It's only a conundrum if the player points out your error in an inappropriate manner. If you got it wrong and the player quietly says "Excuse me, Sir, shouldn't that be blah, blah, blah ..." then you are demonstrating your insecurity if you ignore him.
    Yes, I think that comes into it. If you have a good rapport with the players and they're being well behaved it can make it easier.

    Or if they start effing and blinding at you you can ping them for backchat

    As with so much, I don't think it's black and white. As crossref points out - it also depends on the magnitude of the mistake!

  5. #55

    Resident Club Coach
    didds's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    N/A
    Grade
    Club Coach
    Join Date
    27 Jan 04
    Posts
    9,011
    Thanks (Received)
    47
    Likes (Received)
    770

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    and the eternal conundrum...

    iss a mistake that leads to a score in the 20th minute as important as a mistake leading to a score in the 80th minute?

    didds (rhetorical question)

  6. #56

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    LSRFUR
    Grade
    10
    Join Date
    14 Sep 09
    Posts
    14,658
    Thanks (Received)
    99
    Likes (Received)
    1357

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Many years ago as a brand new ref, they were well in front of the kicker at a 22m dropout, and I awarded a PK for offside


    My error was pointed out to me by one or two players, and the coach, and um a few spectators.
    I realised it was wrong and changed my mind. It's another example where it would be senseless to persist with your decision if you know it was wrong

  7. #57
    Rugby Club Member

    Soc/Assoc
    Prefer not to say
    Grade
    Retired
    Join Date
    10 Dec 15
    Posts
    1,610
    Thanks (Received)
    15
    Likes (Received)
    361

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    Quote Originally Posted by crossref View Post
    Many years ago as a brand new ref, they were well in front of the kicker at a 22m dropout, and I awarded a PK for offside


    My error was pointed out to me by one or two players, and the coach, and um a few spectators.
    I realised it was wrong and changed my mind. It's another example where it would be senseless to persist with your decision if you know it was wrong
    I'm surprised they knew the law!

  8. #58

    Referees in England
    ctrainor's Avatar

    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria Referees Society
    Grade
    7
    Join Date
    23 Jun 05
    Posts
    2,237
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    125

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    The player did point it out to me in a controlled way but I said no you're offside and stuck to my decision. As the ball was kicked I realised I was wrong and told him.
    I know the ball wasn't moved back legally but you know what I mean.
    I've had occasions to change my decision when it is pointed out that I'm wrong. No harm in that if you explain it.
    Ciaran Trainor

  9. #59

    Referees in England


    Soc/Assoc
    Cumbria -The North
    Grade
    Advisor/Assessor
    Join Date
    14 Mar 05
    Posts
    1,772
    Thanks (Received)
    7
    Likes (Received)
    80

    Default Re: Is this a new Lineout tactic?

    It is also an excellent learning point; I find that refs who have 'errors' pointed out to them -and they are asked to check to make sure, really get to understand that particular situation and don't make that 'error' again.

    Refs, however, make fewer mistakes than players; don't beat yourself up about it.
    Those are my principles, and if you don't like them... well, I have others.
    (Groucho Marx)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •